West Texas-Style Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I used canned beans, which reduced the cooking time significantly. This is a very yummy and very easy chili recipe. Make sure you have sour cream on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Impressive!!!Our neighborhood community had a chili cook off and I won 1st place ($75 prize) using this receipe.I did use canned black beans/kidney beans to save time. Whole Foods does sell buffalo meat but a $1.+ & I was able to find the meat @ a reg.grocery store. My chili was completely gone at the end of our community chili cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Love, love, love this recipe. I use canned beans vs. dried beans, leave out the zucchini, add 1 can of green chilis, and use the entire jar of salsa. I also put it in the crock pot in the AM on low and it is perfect at dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Mmm, good chili! The zucchini goes wonderfully with the other flavors, I would never had thought of adding it to chili. I used canned beans, and added water to a small can of tomato paste in place of the tomato sauce. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder,(out of habit), and had to skip the jalepeno pepper,(we are spice wimps). I will be using this recipe for chili from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
So how's about that changing around recipes? I used half beef and half buffalo meat, one can each of northern, red and black beans, an onion, a large can of tomato sauce, a thing of spicy salsa, and then seasoned the heck out of it with crushed red pepper, chile powder, cumin, etc. The cumin gives it much more of a Southwestern Mexican flavor than just the spices. I didn't have any jalapenos on me, so instead I used a few Thai chile peppers. I tend to not like my chili overwhelminly tomato-y, so this version came out great! I'll probably add more meat next time, though. And however insecure East Texans are, West Texans are certainly not immasculated by adding a few beans into their dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
No true TEXAN would and or could enjoy a chile made with "beans". All of the Terlingua chili cookers will have a good chuckle at this recipe.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very good recipe. I also used canned beans instead of dry to save time. I'm not sure what chili sauce is and couldn't find it, so I omitted that ingredient. I served it with shredded cheese on top and corn chips. Very yummy. I wonder if the flavor would be any different with another type of ground meat (turkey, beef, venison, pork, etc); I'll probably be trying this recipe with other types of meat to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaHaole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The buffalo tastes excellent. This recipe could use a little more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have made this a few times now and everyone loves it. I follow the recipe exactly and wouldn;t change a thing - I do add a tiny bit of sour cream in my own bowl but it is great without it. It is too spicy for my mom and a few others but this is my dad's favorite too so thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was really good - i especially liked the black beans with the recipe. I don't know if it was because the pieces of zucchini were too big, but they stayed too firm and I'll probably leave them out entirely next time I make this. A great use for buffalo meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States