West Texas-Style Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I used canned beans, which reduced the cooking time significantly. This is a very yummy and very easy chili recipe. Make sure you have sour cream on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
No true TEXAN would and or could enjoy a chile made with "beans". All of the Terlingua chili cookers will have a good chuckle at this recipe.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I couldn't find ground buffalo anywhere (the woman on the meat counter at Meijer looked at me like I had 3 heads when I asked if they ever got it), so I used crumbled up buffalo burgers instead. I also used a can of kidney beans to save time. This was very tasty - hearty and filling. Thanks, sockgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
A great chili! I also used canned beans to reduce cooking time. Came out great. I also added some garlic and lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
So how's about that changing around recipes? I used half beef and half buffalo meat, one can each of northern, red and black beans, an onion, a large can of tomato sauce, a thing of spicy salsa, and then seasoned the heck out of it with crushed red pepper, chile powder, cumin, etc. The cumin gives it much more of a Southwestern Mexican flavor than just the spices. I didn't have any jalapenos on me, so instead I used a few Thai chile peppers. I tend to not like my chili overwhelminly tomato-y, so this version came out great! I'll probably add more meat next time, though. And however insecure East Texans are, West Texans are certainly not immasculated by adding a few beans into their dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this for a Sunday afternoon football watching gathering, and everyone LOVED it! We decided to double the recipe to feed the masses, in doing so we doubled all ingredients except: both types of beans (I used 1 can of each instead of dry), zucchini, and I omitted the bell peppers entirely. Great flavor, my husband said to never make another kind of chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Impressive!!!Our neighborhood community had a chili cook off and I won 1st place ($75 prize) using this receipe.I did use canned black beans/kidney beans to save time. Whole Foods does sell buffalo meat but a $1.+ & I was able to find the meat @ a reg.grocery store. My chili was completely gone at the end of our community chili cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We made a double batch, added two habenero peppers, and mixed in some venison. We served it to our Southern CA church people. They LOVED it! We didn't tell them until afterward that it had both buffalo and deer in it. They were shocked that game could taste this good! We didn't even get to take any home with us, because they ate it ALL! We're making it again for Monday Night Football. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was really good - i especially liked the black beans with the recipe. I don't know if it was because the pieces of zucchini were too big, but they stayed too firm and I'll probably leave them out entirely next time I make this. A great use for buffalo meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very good recipe. I also used canned beans instead of dry to save time. I'm not sure what chili sauce is and couldn't find it, so I omitted that ingredient. I served it with shredded cheese on top and corn chips. Very yummy. I wonder if the flavor would be any different with another type of ground meat (turkey, beef, venison, pork, etc); I'll probably be trying this recipe with other types of meat to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaHaole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States