West Texas-Style Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Love, love, love this recipe. I use canned beans vs. dried beans, leave out the zucchini, add 1 can of green chilis, and use the entire jar of salsa. I also put it in the crock pot in the AM on low and it is perfect at dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Mmm, good chili! The zucchini goes wonderfully with the other flavors, I would never had thought of adding it to chili. I used canned beans, and added water to a small can of tomato paste in place of the tomato sauce. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder,(out of habit), and had to skip the jalepeno pepper,(we are spice wimps). I will be using this recipe for chili from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very good recipe. I also used canned beans instead of dry to save time. I'm not sure what chili sauce is and couldn't find it, so I omitted that ingredient. I served it with shredded cheese on top and corn chips. Very yummy. I wonder if the flavor would be any different with another type of ground meat (turkey, beef, venison, pork, etc); I'll probably be trying this recipe with other types of meat to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaHaole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was really good - i especially liked the black beans with the recipe. I don't know if it was because the pieces of zucchini were too big, but they stayed too firm and I'll probably leave them out entirely next time I make this. A great use for buffalo meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We made a double batch, added two habenero peppers, and mixed in some venison. We served it to our Southern CA church people. They LOVED it! We didn't tell them until afterward that it had both buffalo and deer in it. They were shocked that game could taste this good! We didn't even get to take any home with us, because they ate it ALL! We're making it again for Monday Night Football. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Impressive!!!Our neighborhood community had a chili cook off and I won 1st place ($75 prize) using this receipe.I did use canned black beans/kidney beans to save time. Whole Foods does sell buffalo meat but a $1.+ & I was able to find the meat @ a reg.grocery store. My chili was completely gone at the end of our community chili cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this for a Sunday afternoon football watching gathering, and everyone LOVED it! We decided to double the recipe to feed the masses, in doing so we doubled all ingredients except: both types of beans (I used 1 can of each instead of dry), zucchini, and I omitted the bell peppers entirely. Great flavor, my husband said to never make another kind of chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
So how's about that changing around recipes? I used half beef and half buffalo meat, one can each of northern, red and black beans, an onion, a large can of tomato sauce, a thing of spicy salsa, and then seasoned the heck out of it with crushed red pepper, chile powder, cumin, etc. The cumin gives it much more of a Southwestern Mexican flavor than just the spices. I didn't have any jalapenos on me, so instead I used a few Thai chile peppers. I tend to not like my chili overwhelminly tomato-y, so this version came out great! I'll probably add more meat next time, though. And however insecure East Texans are, West Texans are certainly not immasculated by adding a few beans into their dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
A great chili! I also used canned beans to reduce cooking time. Came out great. I also added some garlic and lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I couldn't find ground buffalo anywhere (the woman on the meat counter at Meijer looked at me like I had 3 heads when I asked if they ever got it), so I used crumbled up buffalo burgers instead. I also used a can of kidney beans to save time. This was very tasty - hearty and filling. Thanks, sockgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States