West Tennessee Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Really good corn bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Awesome cornbread. I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo since it's what I had. Stayed both moist and crumbly. I did have to leave it in the oven a few extra minutes to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This made good cornbread. I doubled the recipe to make in a 9 inch deep dish pie plate and it was the perfect amount. I will NOT double the salt next time as mine turned out to be a little saltier than is my preference. I also omitted the sugar because I don't like sweet cornbread. I loved the tang from the mayo and buttermilk. I did add 1/2 a stick of melted butter and about 1/4 cup extra milk. I also buttered the top of it IMMEDIATELY after taking it out of the oven so the butter could melt into the top (blame my deep south Georgia roots on that one!). It was still a little dry around the edges for "regular" cornbread but for GLUTEN FREE CORNBREAD it was AWESOME! Will definitely make this again as it is a recipe that the WHOLE family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is a good gluten free cornbread recipe as long as you use mayo that is gf, I recommend best foods or hellmans. Recipe makes more than it says, 4 servings instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I didn't have buttermilk so I used cream. I too added a can of corn into the mix as well. FYI a full can of corn is too much and it made it too crumbly. Or it could have been the size of the eggs. The chickens are laying smaller ones lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
LOVED this! I grew up on Jiffy cornbread mix and liked this even better. Love that it's gluten-free. I doubled this and made it in a greased cast iron skillet. The changes I made were used 1/4c. mayo and 1/4 c. creamed corn and used 1 cup white cornmeal and 1 cup yellow. It came out as yellow. I also didn't have buttermilk, so used the milk/vinegar resubstitute. We used the leftovers to make the Yellow Squash Dressing from this site. YUMMY! Even my kids are requesting both of these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I’m no connoisseur when it comes to corn bread – I just know what I like on the rare occasions I have it. What I do know is that individual taste (and what regions of the country you’re from too!) is what prevails when it comes to what makes the “best” corn bread. Some insist sweet, others not sweet, crumbly, cake-like, with add-ins, others simply plain. And the list of descriptors goes on and on. I guess my preference must fall on the more cake-like side, as this recipe was just a little dry, a little crumbly and had a heartier, coarser texture than I prefer. While I love the buttermilk, at the same time I’m not sure I cared for the mayonnaise and the slight tang it contributed. This was interesting to try but it wasn’t worthy of it being a “repeat” for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I love this cornbread and have made it many times as is. I would not change a thing. Tastes just like the cornbread my mom used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
great! great! great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe is okay. I could really taste the mayo in it. If I did it again, I would probably tone down the mayo, add some butter, and add a little flour instead of a little bit of the cornmeal. But it really isn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haviland, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States