West Coast Cod and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I can't give this five stars because I made some changes based on other reviews. I cut back on the garlic as we are not big fans, sauteed the mushrooms with the onions, used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream, added some tarragon and cut back on the dill, used shredded Italian four cheese and baked uncovered. My husband loved this version. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was pretty good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
OBVIOUSLEY THIS IS ....GREAT STUFF IT IS SO YUMMY AND CUTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
YUM!!!! I didn't have cream, so I threw in a can of cream o mushroom soup, left out the salt and cornstarch. This is my kind of comfort food! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
by far one of the best recipes for fish. The fillets are moist and very tender. a very delicious dish i tell all my friends about and share this recipe with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I read some reviews before making this dish and I took some of the advice. I am not a fan of dill so I used some dried tarragon instead. I also added a dash of sherry and I am glad I did. The dish turned out fine but it would have been very bland without the sherry. I omitted the milk and cornstarch and I did not cover the dish when I put it in the oven. The sauce had a nice consistency and was not too watery. Overall, I found the effort I put into this dish was not worth the outcome. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Made frozen cod tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Three stars as written, as I see this recipe as only the foundation or starting point for a finished dish. I used halibut rather than cod, but that's neither here nor there and doesn't affect the recipe. I sweated the mushrooms along with the onion and garlic as I didn't need them to give off all their juices into the sauce as the dish was baking! I didn't add cornstarch or milk, as neither was necessary if you simply reduce the cream to thicken. The cream sauce needed flavor beyond the dill and a little sherry was the obvious choice. I didn't use the Parmesan - I guess being Italian I have a bias against using cheese with fish or other seafood! Finally, since this was to be baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes (perfect time and temperature by the way), there was no need to cover it and have it "stew" rather than bake, also holding on to all of the juices which would only have made the sauce more liquidy. This turned out to be a rich, flavorful dish, with both the shrimp and the fish perfectly cooked. The sherry, as Hubs so aptly put it, definitely gave the dish character. I layered the shrimp over the fish filets, then poured the sauce over them. It isn't directed to do this in the recipe, but do salt and pepper your fish and shrimp before pouring over the sauce and baking! For a little color, sprinkle on a little paprika. The small changes I've outlined gave this dish definition and dimension and went a long way toward bringing this dish up to a good 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe! I did not have the mushrooms so I simply made it without them. I also subsitituted half & half for the heavy cream. I'd definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this using half and half intsead of the heavy cream, and 1 tsp dried dill instead of fresh, and it was amazingly good. It tasted like something you would pay a lot for at a restaurant, yet it was simple to make at home. I will definitely be making this again, although I think I will add more mushrooms and shrimp (about double of each) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States