West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was very good and filling! I served it over sticky rice. Dearest hubby doesn't like exotic stuff like raisins in anything but cereal so I had it all to myself (the rest is in the freezer for future lunches). I was missing spinach; substituted one large tomato for a large handful of cherry tomatoes; used my own chicken stock and didn't use any water; and I also used almost a tsp of cinnamon and pepper flakes. I agree that nuts could be good in it too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Church Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUM! although this recipe sounded a little odd, it was absolutely delicious. I added about a tsp of brown sugar and a whole tsp of cinnamon, as well as a little extra pepper and nutmeg to boost the sweet potato's flavor. cherry tomatoes work just as well as one large tomato, just make sure to use a heaping handful. I also substituted low sodium organic vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this vegan friendly. i'm going to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I highly recommend! Great flavor, easy to make. Leftovers kept well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was delicious. I made it vegan by using veggie broth instead of chicken. I also omitted the oil, increased the broth to about 24 oz, omitted the tomato (didn't have one), increased cinnamon and red pepper to 1 tsp each, and used frozen spinach instead of fresh (that was all I had on hand). We loved it. A great and unique flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I though I was going to meet resistance with this meal. My 4 year old walked into the kitchen saying, "Dinner smells delicious!". Everyone, including my 1 year old gobbled up their entire meal. The only thing missing was the perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe! Unique flavors, I was able to use up the 1 1/2 sweet potatoes and fresh spinach I had in the refrigerator. Also, we love vegetables in general. I added diced chicken when sauteing the onions and garlic--I omitted the water and just used the broth. Sweet and spicy--a nice combination of both! You can "up" either one according to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
to make it truly vegetarian, I too used all vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth/water combination. The fragrance while cooking is delicious. A perfect cold weather dinner over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllaSay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This stew fit perfectly with all of the produce I had that needed to be used, but I was a bit unsure at first because of the unusual combination of flavors. Now that I've eaten it, I think it is absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe but used an entire can of chicken broth and no water. I also simmered much longer than stated. This would be great with a bowl of white rice on the side for an "ethnic" potluck or dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum! I love all the healthy veggies in this. Such a great way to get lots of nutrients! I subbed garlic powder to taste because i didn't have any fresh garlic on hand, and I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of a fresh tomato because they were expensive and small at the market. Last, I added some simple pork meatballs because my DH claims he "won't feel full" if there's not meat in a dish--ugh. BUT, this stew recipe can stand on its own, as-is. I gave it 5 stars because I was so impressed that such a small amount of seasoning could produce such flavorful results. The flavors of the spinach & sweet potato really shine, with the raisins as delicious little treats sprinkled throughout. We ate this over white rice, and it made a great winter meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The flavors in this are wonderful! I made it as stated but next time will at least double the broth, add another tomato or 2 and up the spices accordingly. I simmered it for at least 30 mins to make sure the sweet potatoes were nice and tender. Awesome over couscous or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States