West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe turned out really well. After adding the 10 oz. of broth and the 1/2 cup of water, there wasn't enough liquid to cover the potatoes while simmering. I added half a carton of chicken broth, along with some extra cinnamon and red pepper flake. My boyfriend and I liked it, but we agreed that it was a little bland. Next time, I'll add salt, pepper, and more garlic. The sweet potatoes were perfectly cooked, tender without being squishy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUM! although this recipe sounded a little odd, it was absolutely delicious. I added about a tsp of brown sugar and a whole tsp of cinnamon, as well as a little extra pepper and nutmeg to boost the sweet potato's flavor. cherry tomatoes work just as well as one large tomato, just make sure to use a heaping handful. I also substituted low sodium organic vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this vegan friendly. i'm going to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I had all of the appropriate veggies at home and wanted something new to do with them. This fit the bill perfectly! The only modification was to use 1 1/2 cups of Organic Vegetable broth as the liquid. Thank you for a unique and wonderful stew that will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It was a cold, rainy night and my husband was coming home wet and miserable. As soon as he hit the front door and got a wiff of what's cooking, his demeanor changed. He took time to email the recipe to his vegetarian friends after wolfing down half his plate. (They'll work out the chicken broth.) I had to sub petit cut canned tomatoes and frozen spinach and it turned out fine. It's a great meal and we can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe. Used dried chick peas and black beans that I soaked. Placed all ingredients in crock pot for the day. Also omitted the chicken broth (to avoid msg) added some more salt and cinnamon. Used swiss chard only because I didn't have spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very good, especially considering how nutritious it is! I didn't have red pepper, so I used paprika - as I made it, I thought it could use a little more umphf. Perhaps the pepper would have helped; I may experiment with other spices in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Even better with cashews and served on brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe! Unique flavors, I was able to use up the 1 1/2 sweet potatoes and fresh spinach I had in the refrigerator. Also, we love vegetables in general. I added diced chicken when sauteing the onions and garlic--I omitted the water and just used the broth. Sweet and spicy--a nice combination of both! You can "up" either one according to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I put a four sliced chicken breasts into this stew along with the given recipe. This stew is ok. The broth is relatively bland but if you add some spices (sweet basil, cumin, coriander), heat (habenero or serrano, I could barely notice the crushed red pepper), and salt (so important, as I cannot stress enough how the broth tasted like water). Note that I increased the amount of red pepper by 50 percent and used the specific campbell's 10.5 oz chicken broth. This stew must be infused with intense spices and sensations. Even when done, the character of the stew is ambiguous. A blank slate for your inventive or conservative spicing! I recommend cooking this stew as given in the recipe (the cinnamon and vegetables makes your house smell amazing) and then spicing afterwards to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
A keeper! One of the best recipes I have even found on this site. I veered slightly off the recipe and added more raisins, used canned tomatoes and frozen spinach as that was what I had (I'm sure fresh is better but this was a great dish for a rainy night.) Absolutely delicious with short grain brown rice -- and very healthy as well. Yummy and filling. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States