West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe turned out really well. After adding the 10 oz. of broth and the 1/2 cup of water, there wasn't enough liquid to cover the potatoes while simmering. I added half a carton of chicken broth, along with some extra cinnamon and red pepper flake. My boyfriend and I liked it, but we agreed that it was a little bland. Next time, I'll add salt, pepper, and more garlic. The sweet potatoes were perfectly cooked, tender without being squishy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very Good - It was very different than what we were used to but the fresh ingredients and unusual spice combo made it a fun new dinner for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe is DELICIOUS. I used 2 cups of boxed "non-chicken" chicken broth instead of the Campbell's condensed, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I substituted "no chicken" broth for campbell's as well. It turned out great. So easy! Very flavorful too, I didn't add any salt or extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very good, especially considering how nutritious it is! I didn't have red pepper, so I used paprika - as I made it, I thought it could use a little more umphf. Perhaps the pepper would have helped; I may experiment with other spices in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Even better with cashews and served on brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My husband liked this. I liked it too, but for me, it was not one of those soups that you can keep in the fridge for long. The potatoes become too mushy, and the raisins plump up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was very good and filling! I served it over sticky rice. Dearest hubby doesn't like exotic stuff like raisins in anything but cereal so I had it all to myself (the rest is in the freezer for future lunches). I was missing spinach; substituted one large tomato for a large handful of cherry tomatoes; used my own chicken stock and didn't use any water; and I also used almost a tsp of cinnamon and pepper flakes. I agree that nuts could be good in it too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Church Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUM! although this recipe sounded a little odd, it was absolutely delicious. I added about a tsp of brown sugar and a whole tsp of cinnamon, as well as a little extra pepper and nutmeg to boost the sweet potato's flavor. cherry tomatoes work just as well as one large tomato, just make sure to use a heaping handful. I also substituted low sodium organic vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this vegan friendly. i'm going to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I highly recommend! Great flavor, easy to make. Leftovers kept well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States