West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was extremely unique and really quite tasty. The only big change I made was that I added black beans as well since I had some left over from another recipe. I have to admit that I was really unsure about adding the raisins, but they were such a great addition, I'm glad I didn't skip them. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My picky-eating family loved this stew. I added cloves and additional salt and red pepper flakes. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
super yum. diced onions, cubed sweet potato, doubled cinnamon, add salt and pepper, and used 2 cans of chicken broth. I was worried about the raisins, but it really added a great flavor, so definitely add them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Nice mixture of cinnamon and crushed red pepper makes this dish spicy yet slightly sweet. Loved it over basmatic rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
YUMMY! I substituted chicken broth with vegetable broth and felt something was missing so I added a tablespoon of honey and it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perlita36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Posen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The flavors in this are wonderful! I made it as stated but next time will at least double the broth, add another tomato or 2 and up the spices accordingly. I simmered it for at least 30 mins to make sure the sweet potatoes were nice and tender. Awesome over couscous or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe! Unique flavors, I was able to use up the 1 1/2 sweet potatoes and fresh spinach I had in the refrigerator. Also, we love vegetables in general. I added diced chicken when sauteing the onions and garlic--I omitted the water and just used the broth. Sweet and spicy--a nice combination of both! You can "up" either one according to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I though I was going to meet resistance with this meal. My 4 year old walked into the kitchen saying, "Dinner smells delicious!". Everyone, including my 1 year old gobbled up their entire meal. The only thing missing was the perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was delicious. I made it vegan by using veggie broth instead of chicken. I also omitted the oil, increased the broth to about 24 oz, omitted the tomato (didn't have one), increased cinnamon and red pepper to 1 tsp each, and used frozen spinach instead of fresh (that was all I had on hand). We loved it. A great and unique flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This stew fit perfectly with all of the produce I had that needed to be used, but I was a bit unsure at first because of the unusual combination of flavors. Now that I've eaten it, I think it is absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe but used an entire can of chicken broth and no water. I also simmered much longer than stated. This would be great with a bowl of white rice on the side for an "ethnic" potluck or dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States