West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
A keeper! One of the best recipes I have even found on this site. I veered slightly off the recipe and added more raisins, used canned tomatoes and frozen spinach as that was what I had (I'm sure fresh is better but this was a great dish for a rainy night.) Absolutely delicious with short grain brown rice -- and very healthy as well. Yummy and filling. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. I am a vegetarian so I used Vegetable broth. I use Better than Boulion paste. I did 1 Tablespoon to 10 ounces of water to make it condensed and then added the extra half cup water as the recipe called for. I also am not a fan of raisins so I used Craisins instead. The flavor was OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Really enjoyed the flavor of the red pepper, I think I used twice what it called for and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good! I used vegetable broth instead and it was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guruubii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I rarely rate recipes but am making an exception on this one. Simply delicious! I made it as written except added a bit more crushed pepper and salt/ ground black pepper to taste. The broth after cooking was heavenly. I love that it's so healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Making this for the second time tonight, and can hardly wait for it to be finished. Very unique flavors that work surprisingly well together! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I had all of the appropriate veggies at home and wanted something new to do with them. This fit the bill perfectly! The only modification was to use 1 1/2 cups of Organic Vegetable broth as the liquid. Thank you for a unique and wonderful stew that will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Good. Didn't preserve that well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe. Used dried chick peas and black beans that I soaked. Placed all ingredients in crock pot for the day. Also omitted the chicken broth (to avoid msg) added some more salt and cinnamon. Used swiss chard only because I didn't have spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It was a cold, rainy night and my husband was coming home wet and miserable. As soon as he hit the front door and got a wiff of what's cooking, his demeanor changed. He took time to email the recipe to his vegetarian friends after wolfing down half his plate. (They'll work out the chicken broth.) I had to sub petit cut canned tomatoes and frozen spinach and it turned out fine. It's a great meal and we can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States