West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it even leaving out the red pepper which I just can't take. Had it over quinoa. Tastes even better on subsequent days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good! I added 1/2 cup cashews and served over rice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Delicious exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I really enjoyed this simple and hearty stew. I added a single chicken breast to the recipe for more protein, as this was going a once dish meal. My family enjoyed it as well. I'll be making this one again. Maybe switch up the greens? Kale, collards, mustard greens would all work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niabi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Excellent and flavorful. Based on other reviews I added a bit more water but found all the other ingredients balanced well. I like spicy and I think if someone didn't care for heat it would be a bit much. I didn't think the 1/4" sliced sweet potatoes would cook thoroughly given the directions but they were perfect. I loved this and it will return!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made this recipe many, many times over the past year and it is always a super hit! Wonderful to throw together after work when I want something nourishing without alot of work or pots to clean up. I've always used a 14 oz can of petite diced tomatoes because I never seem to have fresh ones when I need them. The cinnamon and red pepper are what make this. Leftovers are wonderful for lunch next day when flavors have mellowed - my teenage daughter and I fight over who gets to take it as there's never much left. Love it over quick cooking bulghur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS! I wasn't sure what to expect with all these odd ingredients together, but this was really really good. The cinnamon and raisins with the sweet potatoes sweeten it up. And the red pepper flakes give it some nice spice! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyBee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Tobacco, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Loved this and been asked for recipe. Make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was amazing! only thing I did was doubled the spices...it was different flavors than my palate is use too so just blew me away i thought it was great...healthy and easy to make!! everyone should try it out..we served it over wheat rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Nothing makes Hubby happier than coming home to the smell of onions frying -- he knows dinner isn't far behind and asks "is it West African stew?" --his favorite dish that starts with frying onions. I always hold off and add crushed fresh garlic when the onions are almost translucent since it's so easy to burn garlic. I triple the amount of cinnamon and crushed red pepper, adding them while the onion cooks. We are Americans living in Thailand and this dish uses local ingredients. Fresh tomatoes can sometimes be "iffy", so I use a local brand of canned tomatoes with great tomato sauce. If I can't find sweet potatoes, I use cassava (which is more "authentic" West African anyway). But, I steam the sliced cassava first until it's almost done with cinnamon and nutmeg because cassava takes longer to cook than sweet potatoes. To keep this vegetarian, I use a chicken-flavored vegetarian bullion cube, don't drain the can of garbano beans and add water used to steam the cassava if the stew needs to be thinned. I add slices of fresh mango, if in season, just before serving. As mentioned by others, this recipe doesn't "keep well" -- the raisins swell and the potatoes/cassava get soft. Fresh mangos really go soft quickly. But, it doesn't matter, this recipe disappears within 24 hrs -- we quickly share it with friends, who are delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States