West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
to make it truly vegetarian, I too used all vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth/water combination. The fragrance while cooking is delicious. A perfect cold weather dinner over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllaSay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum! I love all the healthy veggies in this. Such a great way to get lots of nutrients! I subbed garlic powder to taste because i didn't have any fresh garlic on hand, and I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of a fresh tomato because they were expensive and small at the market. Last, I added some simple pork meatballs because my DH claims he "won't feel full" if there's not meat in a dish--ugh. BUT, this stew recipe can stand on its own, as-is. I gave it 5 stars because I was so impressed that such a small amount of seasoning could produce such flavorful results. The flavors of the spinach & sweet potato really shine, with the raisins as delicious little treats sprinkled throughout. We ate this over white rice, and it made a great winter meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I highly recommend! Great flavor, easy to make. Leftovers kept well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUM! although this recipe sounded a little odd, it was absolutely delicious. I added about a tsp of brown sugar and a whole tsp of cinnamon, as well as a little extra pepper and nutmeg to boost the sweet potato's flavor. cherry tomatoes work just as well as one large tomato, just make sure to use a heaping handful. I also substituted low sodium organic vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this vegan friendly. i'm going to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was very good and filling! I served it over sticky rice. Dearest hubby doesn't like exotic stuff like raisins in anything but cereal so I had it all to myself (the rest is in the freezer for future lunches). I was missing spinach; substituted one large tomato for a large handful of cherry tomatoes; used my own chicken stock and didn't use any water; and I also used almost a tsp of cinnamon and pepper flakes. I agree that nuts could be good in it too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Church Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My husband liked this. I liked it too, but for me, it was not one of those soups that you can keep in the fridge for long. The potatoes become too mushy, and the raisins plump up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Even better with cashews and served on brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very good, especially considering how nutritious it is! I didn't have red pepper, so I used paprika - as I made it, I thought it could use a little more umphf. Perhaps the pepper would have helped; I may experiment with other spices in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I substituted "no chicken" broth for campbell's as well. It turned out great. So easy! Very flavorful too, I didn't add any salt or extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe is DELICIOUS. I used 2 cups of boxed "non-chicken" chicken broth instead of the Campbell's condensed, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States