West African Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Kids enjoyed this a lot. I didn't have fresh onions, so used 1 tsp dried onions. Omitted the garbanzo beans too. And added a handful of sunflower and pumpkin seeds for texture. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! I used a whole box (4 cups) of chicken broth because we wanted to eat it in a bowl and not over rice. I expect to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is delicious! I normally am not a fan of chickpeas but they were great in this dish. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. I usually substitute butternut squash for the sweet potato and use canned tomatoes instead of fresh. I have substituted swiss chard and kale for the spinach depending on what I have on hand. I leave out the red pepper because I do not like spicy foods. I also frequently add some cooked chicken or pork to increase the protein. It is very flexible recipe and delicious every time I make it. So healthy and low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was amazing! I and my family loved it. I added some salt and a bit more crushed red pepper and twice the amount of garlic. I also added 2 smoked hocks and some leftover turkey. There was tons of flavor. This is a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very tasty and colorful! My substitutions (just because I had them): I used a can of tomato sauce instead of the fresh tomato, a can of black beans instead of the chick peas, and red pepper flakes instead of crushed. I added salt and pepper and an extra clove of garlic. Totally not bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I put a four sliced chicken breasts into this stew along with the given recipe. This stew is ok. The broth is relatively bland but if you add some spices (sweet basil, cumin, coriander), heat (habenero or serrano, I could barely notice the crushed red pepper), and salt (so important, as I cannot stress enough how the broth tasted like water). Note that I increased the amount of red pepper by 50 percent and used the specific campbell's 10.5 oz chicken broth. This stew must be infused with intense spices and sensations. Even when done, the character of the stew is ambiguous. A blank slate for your inventive or conservative spicing! I recommend cooking this stew as given in the recipe (the cinnamon and vegetables makes your house smell amazing) and then spicing afterwards to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I have made this recipe over and over again. Change the broth to veggie (or just use water) and it is a one of my favorite plant strong meals. Freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Sue Blair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made this without the spinach (didn't have any on hand) and it came out well, though I do think that the spices could be increased by half. Served it on top of couscous, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States