West African-Style Chicken and Fennel Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
The fennel gave this a really unique taste, though I let them cook a little bit longer than specified because I prefer them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I stumbled upon this when searching for a recipe to use the fennel I got from my produce co-op. It was delicious! I had to make a few substitutions because I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand: great Northern beans for chickpeas and dried herbs for fresh. When I mixed the spices I went easy on it for the kids, but ended up adding more later. The spice combination is delicious. I had reservations as I cooked the fennel (like the previous reviewer I preferred mine softer, so I cooked them until almost caramelized-next time I will chop smaller) and wasn't sure what to think of the french onion soup, but it came together beautifully. We served ours over cooked lentils. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I belong to a farm co-op and never really knew what to do with the fennel we get each spring. Thank you All Recipes for introducing me to this recipe!! I've made this stew three times now and we love it! I've used thighs and breasts at different times but prefer the breasts. It's simmering on my stove right now, my house smells lovely and licorice-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I was giving this three stars when I first tasted it, but by the end of my bowl, I was in love! I made it exactly as written. The flavors grow in your mouth, although I would not call it spicy, it is FULL of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I didn't have cumin, so I added cinnamon for warmth, I didn't have onion soup so I added 2beef bouillon cubes a little molasses and green onion, and I didn't have lemon so I used a little extra cilantro for "brightness" and it still turned out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I was surprised how good this recipe was because I am not a huge fan of fennel. I used 6 drumsticks instead of boneless thighs and that was fine. I baked the drumsticks in the oven first for 30 min on each side with oil, salt and pepper. I think the recipe will be pretty good with chicken breast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I love this dish. I have made it a few times, always with chicken breast (bite size) instead of thighs and with less fennel (1 bulb) and with chicken stock instead of soup. I serve with couscous and its really delicious, even the next day. Was definitely not a fennel fan, until this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Stumbled across this while I was looking for some way to use my fennel and chicken. What a treat! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand (no french onion soup or chickpeas) so after I sauteed and removed the chicken from the pan, I also sauteed onions with the fennel. Then I deglazed the pan with red wine, added powdered onion soup mix, water and returned to boil then threw in some no yolk noodles and simmered the whole thing (covered) until the noodles were done. what a lot of flavor! very yummy. I'll do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was very flavorful and my kids enjoyed it as well. I had a lot of time so spent the extra hour to make the onion soup from scratch and cook dried beans. The fresh lemon really makes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I had never had Campbell's French onion soup before, so I didn't know what to expect...to put it lightly, it is far from delicious. If I would have just sautéed some onions and added beef stock the dish probably would be 3 stars without changing anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States