West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by GypsyCurls
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My bestie was down for a much needed visit, and having told me she just decided to go Vegan, I thought it would be best to take her to this Vegan restaurant I love so much. Well on this particular day, one of the chefs just had HIS best friend from Senegal over, who made this dish for him, so he was trying it out on the patrons. We were the first tasters!INSTANT LOVE! I felt it wasn't decent to ask a chef for a recipe to something, so as usual I came here! So far so good! In the finishing stages of cooking it now. Did a taste test, almost identical to the one I tasted from the vegan restaurant :D! Definitely a keeper! The only things I needed to change (And thus the reason for 4 and not 5 stars) was I did find that 5 cups of chicken stock is quite a bit, especially when you then add the juice from the diced tomatoes. So you may want to use 3-4 cups of stock, and none of the juice from the diced tomatoes. OH! And I ended up adding a cup of creamy Peanut butter in addition to the crunchy for more peanut buttery taste and not SO many nuts (Although I think that is more Brand specific than recipe specific). All in all, I DEFINITELY think you should give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used the 1/2 cup left over kale from the smoothie recipe and it is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love the heat and richness of this soup. It's a good winter meal when you're tired of stews and chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Fabulous! I follows the recipe exactly except I omitted the red pepper flakes and one cup of the chicken broth. So tasty and healthy! I love all the ginger! Thanks km1312
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallyrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe was really awesome. Tons of delicious peanut flavor. I used chickpeas instead of chicken, as another reviewer suggested. Try it-you won't miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! Definitely a new regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made it into a vegan dish, tofu instead of chicken and veggie broth instead of the kind listed. Also I added a little more water and put all the ingredients into a slow cooker on low over night. I served it over quinoa also - first recipe ever that I ate the WHOLE thing. It sounds strange but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I subbed kale for collard greens but kept everything else the same. Also... the recipe says this only makes four servings? Maybe my husband and I just have small appetites, but I would put this at six servings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a delicious stew! Flavors can be tweaked to your liking. I used less red pepper. And actually the chicken doesn't add a lot and could easily be a vegetarian stew ... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Amazing! I always adjust the recipes that I use and it was still awesome! I used kale instead of collard greens, some homemade cashew/almond butter instead of peanut butter, vegetable broth (only 4 cups) instead of chicken broth and I did not put in chicken. I also used olive and grapeseed oil instead of peanut oil. Like some of the other reviews suggested, I added some cinnamon and cumin. Our family likes spice, so I added more red pepper flakes. Fantastic! The flavor is rich and very satisfying but yet still healthy...this is def one of our new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States