West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
MMMM MMMMM!!! Made a version of this today with several variations: used about 20 oz. of nice tri-tip beef cut into large chunks. Used fresh garlic, ginger paste, chili paste, cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes, along with a good amount of smoked paprika and a bay leaf. I added some green and red bell pepper strips, three peeled sweet potatoes cut into small chunks, and two sliced medium carrots. I don't like onions, so I omitted them. For the liquids, I used a total of about 3C: about 1/2C old red wine, about 1C of water with chicken stock paste (Better than Boullion--used about 2 1/2 tsp), and 1 1/2C light coconut milk. I added one 14oz can of whole tomatoes in puree and smashed them a little and 1C of chunky peanut butter. Once I had everything together and to a boil on the stove, I put it into a preheated 300 degree oven for a total of 1 1/2 hours. I checked and did add some of the liquid that made the total above as needed. I checked and adjusted the seasonings along the way too. I didn't want to make it too hot or have too much ginger, but I added more of these and would probably add just a smidge more next time. Before the last 30 minutes, I threw in just a little frozen chopped kale. I served this with brown rice and it was spectacular. I would probably leave the kale out next time because I feel it didn't really add much with all the other flavors in the dish. Play around with the recipe and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So good. I made it veg with tofu and veg broth, also I used a stick blender to make it more creamy, then threw in a handful of peanuts at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan_carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe is so delicious. I felt like I was eating at a restaurant. It has so much flavor you won't regret making it. I tried the vegetarian version with white beans. I put all the ingredients in my crockpot and OMG! It's amazingly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMom
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe completely and was very surprised at how well and tasty this stew came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Love this recipe!!! I served with brown rice, cilantro and peanuts. Next time I would love to make with dark meat instead of breast for jucier meat. Was sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This an amazing dish....I made some changes I used smoke Turkey wings instead of chicken and instead of sweet potatoes I used white potatoes. I cooked this for my husband and kids and having him tell me as soon as he put the spoon in his mouth..... that it brought back all his childhood memories of his mom cooking that dish and the fact that my husband mother pass away when he was only 8yrs old and he really didn't remember her that much up until that very moment..... meant a lot to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Loved this! Used leftover sweet potatoes and cut the cooking time by 15 min. Added peppers and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This has become a staple dish in our house! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved it, my boyfriend refused to try it. Just means more for me! I made it as the recipe states and it was really good. I think for next time I would add rice and more chicken and throw in some shrimp, and maybe some more vegetable. To make it more of a meal, and stretch out the peanut broth for it's pretty fatty. I'm a big fan of cooking up a big batch and freezing for quick lunches. I'm going to make this one time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Driedger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this! Ate it over rice. Added some other veggies - carrots, beans and celery. Didn't have collard greens so used turnip greens. Will definitely make again, but will leave out the chicken since we are trying to eat more vegetarian and the chicken really didn't add much - the peanut butter is the protein source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States