West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent! I'm making this stew again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Love this dish! I've always called it African Groundnut Stew. I like it thick so cut way down on the chicken stock. Added tomato paste - did not add potatoes. Eat over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this vegetarian style (no chicken, veggie broth), with curly kale instead of collards and it was amazing. We had it over white rice which held it together very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made it vegetarian by replacing the chicken with garbanzo beans and chicken broth with vegetable -- upped the protein by serving it over quinoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this skeptically the first time, and have since made it twice. My family absolutely loves this! I use homemade stock and omit the chicken. I put shrimp in it last time and served it with rice. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef's daughter
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
One of our favorite restaurants occasionally serves this soup, and we always look forward to it. I generally followed the recipe and used red garnet sweet potatoes as they are chock full of nutrients. We omitted the greens, cut the red pepper flakes by half, and used chunky natural peanut butter (no sugar added) so I tossed in a small fistful of brown sugar, and a little cinnamon, ground cloves and cumin for added aromatic spice. I actually liked that the potatoes cooked down and gave the soup a comforting thick texture perfect on a cold day. If I needed it served over anything, it likely would be quinoa for the additional protein. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I was nervous the whole time while it was cooking but I followed the directions exactly and it turned out wonderful. My man doesn't like stew and soup very much but he stated, "Add this one to your book!" We will definitely be eating this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I added extra peanut butter and extra collard greens to it. I cut the chicken broth down to 4 cups so it would be a little thicker. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Super good! I substituted butternut squash for the sweet potatoes and i forgot to add the ginger but it turned out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Pietsch
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe! Easy to make, full of flavor, and open to variation based on preferences and what’s available in the pantry (this recipe is quite forgiving). Here are mine: Use a large crock pot. Additional ingredients: 1 chopped green pepper and 1T each of nutmeg, cumin, and smoked paprika. Save the collard greens as a garnish. Mix the stock, tomatoes, peanut butter, and seasonings in the crock. If you’re preparing in the morning, set crock to low; otherwise, set to high. Sauté the onion and green pepper; add the garlic about a minute before you are done sautéing. Add to the crock. Add the chunked sweet potatoes. Don’t bother peeling, just gave them a good scrub. The skins are full of nutrients and they’ll soften. Add whole, uncooked chicken breasts (thawed or frozen). After a few hours, remove chicken and shred by pulling apart with two forks (I prefer the look and texture of shredded chicken in my stews). If the chicken is fully cooked, it will pull apart pretty easily. Put the chicken back into the crock and turn heat to low until ready to serve. Right before serving, sauté the collard greens with a bit of butter and a generous pinch of salt. Use tongs to toss the greens. Sauté until slightly wilted and a pretty green. Serve over quinoa, and garnish with wilted collard greens, shredded carrots, and coarsely chopped peanuts. Love, love, love this recipe! Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Pietsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States