West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made it vegetarian by replacing the chicken with garbanzo beans and chicken broth with vegetable -- upped the protein by serving it over quinoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I added the chicken, used regular potatoes instead of sweet and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. It was really good. I thought it was a tad bit too spicy, but dad and hubby both thought the spice level was perfect. Next time, I will add the tomatoes and greens at same time I add potatoes, didn't think they needed extra cooking as they came out very soft (maybe because I cut them in small bite size chunks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Let me be the first to say that this is absolutely delicious and different! I followed the directions exactly except for subbing regular potatoes for the sweet potatoes. Shared with some friends that couldn't believe how tasty it is. If not for the high fat/high carb/high cholesterol I'd make frequently. As is...it will have to be a rare treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Pietsch
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe! Easy to make, full of flavor, and open to variation based on preferences and what’s available in the pantry (this recipe is quite forgiving). Here are mine: Use a large crock pot. Additional ingredients: 1 chopped green pepper and 1T each of nutmeg, cumin, and smoked paprika. Save the collard greens as a garnish. Mix the stock, tomatoes, peanut butter, and seasonings in the crock. If you’re preparing in the morning, set crock to low; otherwise, set to high. Sauté the onion and green pepper; add the garlic about a minute before you are done sautéing. Add to the crock. Add the chunked sweet potatoes. Don’t bother peeling, just gave them a good scrub. The skins are full of nutrients and they’ll soften. Add whole, uncooked chicken breasts (thawed or frozen). After a few hours, remove chicken and shred by pulling apart with two forks (I prefer the look and texture of shredded chicken in my stews). If the chicken is fully cooked, it will pull apart pretty easily. Put the chicken back into the crock and turn heat to low until ready to serve. Right before serving, sauté the collard greens with a bit of butter and a generous pinch of salt. Use tongs to toss the greens. Sauté until slightly wilted and a pretty green. Serve over quinoa, and garnish with wilted collard greens, shredded carrots, and coarsely chopped peanuts. Love, love, love this recipe! Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Pietsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef's daughter
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
One of our favorite restaurants occasionally serves this soup, and we always look forward to it. I generally followed the recipe and used red garnet sweet potatoes as they are chock full of nutrients. We omitted the greens, cut the red pepper flakes by half, and used chunky natural peanut butter (no sugar added) so I tossed in a small fistful of brown sugar, and a little cinnamon, ground cloves and cumin for added aromatic spice. I actually liked that the potatoes cooked down and gave the soup a comforting thick texture perfect on a cold day. If I needed it served over anything, it likely would be quinoa for the additional protein. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Love this dish! I've always called it African Groundnut Stew. I like it thick so cut way down on the chicken stock. Added tomato paste - did not add potatoes. Eat over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I added extra peanut butter and extra collard greens to it. I cut the chicken broth down to 4 cups so it would be a little thicker. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very tasty! Used cubed butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and left out the crushed chili pepper for the kids. Probably easier to make with the sweet potatoes because the squash was tough to chop but that is what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Alston Brown
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
It was surprisingly delicious. Like lick the bowl good. I changed the recipe to use what.I had: 1) used 32 oz / 4 cup of Swanson Thai Ginger broth instead of chicken broth. I think five cups is too much. 2) used two 10 oz cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chili's instead if 16 oz chopped 3) Used five cloves of garlic 4) I think I'll add more sweet potatoes next time, they cooked down more than expected. 5) used 1.5 lb boneless chicken thighs. It was very easy and a gorgeous dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this with the closest ingredients I had (yellow onion instead of red, regular greens instead of collard greens) etc, and I thought it came out very good. There are a lot of veggies and the peanut butter adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States