West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made it into a vegan dish, tofu instead of chicken and veggie broth instead of the kind listed. Also I added a little more water and put all the ingredients into a slow cooker on low over night. I served it over quinoa also - first recipe ever that I ate the WHOLE thing. It sounds strange but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I subbed kale for collard greens but kept everything else the same. Also... the recipe says this only makes four servings? Maybe my husband and I just have small appetites, but I would put this at six servings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a delicious stew! Flavors can be tweaked to your liking. I used less red pepper. And actually the chicken doesn't add a lot and could easily be a vegetarian stew ... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Amazing! I always adjust the recipes that I use and it was still awesome! I used kale instead of collard greens, some homemade cashew/almond butter instead of peanut butter, vegetable broth (only 4 cups) instead of chicken broth and I did not put in chicken. I also used olive and grapeseed oil instead of peanut oil. Like some of the other reviews suggested, I added some cinnamon and cumin. Our family likes spice, so I added more red pepper flakes. Fantastic! The flavor is rich and very satisfying but yet still healthy...this is def one of our new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrismith
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was good but needs a few adjustments. First off the sauce is way too thin. I only used 3 and a half cups of chicken stock and next time will use even less. I also used a bit less PB since I was using less stock (about 2/3 cup). I used 2 lbs of chicken thighs and a can of garbanzo beans. The sweet potatoes got too mushy so next time I will add them with only 20 minutes left. I didn't have collard greens so I used spinach which worked out great. With these changes I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I've never tasted anything like this! Very different but couldn't stop "tasting" it. I copied others and added a dash of cinnamon, cumin & a pinch of sugar. Also subbed dried ginger for fresh. (I know, a big no-no) But I was out. I'm letting it simmer on the stove until dinner. Will serve over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent! Cut your ginger thick and it has the most beautiful crunch. Doubled the red pepper and added 1/2 tsp allspice. Super yum. Definitely gonna try other greens in this. So many possibilites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senna Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sa'
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious and different! The collard greens added to the broth flavor, and the potatoes came out really good. I don't eat much meat, so these two ingredients were great. I changed the recipe a bit, and replaced chicken with pork, and used russet potatoes. When browning the meat, I also added in some cumin, turmeric, and ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sa'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Pietsch
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe! Easy to make, full of flavor, and open to variation based on preferences and what’s available in the pantry (this recipe is quite forgiving). Here are mine: Use a large crock pot. Additional ingredients: 1 chopped green pepper and 1T each of nutmeg, cumin, and smoked paprika. Save the collard greens as a garnish. Mix the stock, tomatoes, peanut butter, and seasonings in the crock. If you’re preparing in the morning, set crock to low; otherwise, set to high. Sauté the onion and green pepper; add the garlic about a minute before you are done sautéing. Add to the crock. Add the chunked sweet potatoes. Don’t bother peeling, just gave them a good scrub. The skins are full of nutrients and they’ll soften. Add whole, uncooked chicken breasts (thawed or frozen). After a few hours, remove chicken and shred by pulling apart with two forks (I prefer the look and texture of shredded chicken in my stews). If the chicken is fully cooked, it will pull apart pretty easily. Put the chicken back into the crock and turn heat to low until ready to serve. Right before serving, sauté the collard greens with a bit of butter and a generous pinch of salt. Use tongs to toss the greens. Sauté until slightly wilted and a pretty green. Serve over quinoa, and garnish with wilted collard greens, shredded carrots, and coarsely chopped peanuts. Love, love, love this recipe! Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Pietsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent! I'm making this stew again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States