West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Let me be the first to say that this is absolutely delicious and different! I followed the directions exactly except for subbing regular potatoes for the sweet potatoes. Shared with some friends that couldn't believe how tasty it is. If not for the high fat/high carb/high cholesterol I'd make frequently. As is...it will have to be a rare treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this with the closest ingredients I had (yellow onion instead of red, regular greens instead of collard greens) etc, and I thought it came out very good. There are a lot of veggies and the peanut butter adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I added the chicken, used regular potatoes instead of sweet and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. It was really good. I thought it was a tad bit too spicy, but dad and hubby both thought the spice level was perfect. Next time, I will add the tomatoes and greens at same time I add potatoes, didn't think they needed extra cooking as they came out very soft (maybe because I cut them in small bite size chunks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So different and tasty! I added a green bell pepper and used dried ginger; a definite crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very tasty! Used cubed butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and left out the crushed chili pepper for the kids. Probably easier to make with the sweet potatoes because the squash was tough to chop but that is what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Love this dish! I've always called it African Groundnut Stew. I like it thick so cut way down on the chicken stock. Added tomato paste - did not add potatoes. Eat over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this vegetarian style (no chicken, veggie broth), with curly kale instead of collards and it was amazing. We had it over white rice which held it together very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made it vegetarian by replacing the chicken with garbanzo beans and chicken broth with vegetable -- upped the protein by serving it over quinoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this skeptically the first time, and have since made it twice. My family absolutely loves this! I use homemade stock and omit the chicken. I put shrimp in it last time and served it with rice. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef's daughter
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
One of our favorite restaurants occasionally serves this soup, and we always look forward to it. I generally followed the recipe and used red garnet sweet potatoes as they are chock full of nutrients. We omitted the greens, cut the red pepper flakes by half, and used chunky natural peanut butter (no sugar added) so I tossed in a small fistful of brown sugar, and a little cinnamon, ground cloves and cumin for added aromatic spice. I actually liked that the potatoes cooked down and gave the soup a comforting thick texture perfect on a cold day. If I needed it served over anything, it likely would be quinoa for the additional protein. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States