West African Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this! Ate it over rice. Added some other veggies - carrots, beans and celery. Didn't have collard greens so used turnip greens. Will definitely make again, but will leave out the chicken since we are trying to eat more vegetarian and the chicken really didn't add much - the peanut butter is the protein source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Pretty delicious! I made and used my own chicken stock and ended up using about 4 & 1/2 cups (cutting back based on other reviews). It was thick. But I also used fresh cherry tomatoes (quartered) instead of canned diced tomatoes. I substituted kale (that I already had on hand) for the collard greens and it was great. It's nice that's it's full of healthy power foods: sweet potatoes and dark, leafy greens. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhohmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Great recipe! No potatoes so I added a can of garbanzo beans. The remainder I followed the recipe, except I exchanged thighs for breasts. Borderline too hot, but I have extremely hot crushed red pepper. I am looking forward to trying this with the summer tomato bounty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by norahanem
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe and awesome helpful reviews. I added tomato paste to compensate for the lack of canned tomatoes; turned out great. My husband lived in West Africa and this was his favorite meal there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
good, but spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I generally followed the recipe, but with a few extras. I added more red pepper, some cinnamon, and some nutmeg. I also used fresh ground peanuts instead off jarred peanut butter and used closer to a cup and a half. I substituted coconut oil for the peanut oil and cut back on the sweet potatoes a bit and the sick by a whole cup. The chicken was thigh meat. It made a huge amount - 6 nice sized bowls. It was served with some wheat yeast rolls. I'm definitely adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was very good, especially the way the sweet potatoes got very soft and kind of melted into the stew a bit. But I would say it is a little too tomato-y, my whole family agreed. Next time I make it, I would use a regular size can if tomatoes instead of one of the big 16oz ones, and I would add the tomatoes in after the onion, garlic and ginger are sautéed and cook them down a little, because adding the tomato at the end left the dish with a canned-tomato taste, even though I simmered for an additional hour. I also changed a couple things - I used spinach instead of kale which worked fine, and I added about 1 tablespoon of cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon (from another recipe) -- the spices added a nice subtle flavor to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I just made this and stuck as close to the printed recipe as I had ingredients. I loved this and will make it again. I had to substitute Siracha for heat and romaine for greens and it was wonderful. I don't know that I will want a plain sweet potato again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum! I omitted the meat and used a mixture of sweet potatoes and russets. It was very different and delicious! I love spicy food, but if you dont id recommend using a lot less crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States