West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
What a great recipe. I put the onions, peppers, and garlic in the food processor to mince them and it came out great. I also chopped up the tomatoes before adding them too. I made this for myself first, then for a family dinner. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Yum yum yum! Being a peanut butter lover and always looking for new taste combinations thought I'd give this a try. Fantastic. If you don't LOVE peanut butter, you may want to cut it back a little. Ends up being pretty creamy - might be too much for some. But for me - EXCELLENT. Definitely serve with crusty bread for dipping. Also, apple slices compliment this soup well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Awesome soup!!! Hubby and I both loved it. A few minor changes... I used 4 cups chicken broth (instead of vegetable broth) and excluded the rice. Also, I used peanut oil instead of olive oil and only 2/3 cup peanut butter (don't need whole jar - way too much fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I have made this many times, and while it is wonderful as is, I have tweaked it to make it a little healthier. First, I add some carrots and celery to increase the veggie content, and only use about 3/4 - 1 cup peanut butter, which is plenty. If you find this is not thick enough, I sometimes make a cornstarch slurry to give it the same consistency as the original. I also use fire-roasted tomatoes in this, as it adds a particular rustic flavor to it. Either way, this soup is requested all the time at my work parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Before adding the peanut butter, the broth was so good, I was afraid of ruining it. I was skeptical, but this recipe is fantastic! Definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is delicious and perfect just the way it is!! I have made this recipe several times, and will make it many more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMUIGIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is one keeper! My husband and I love the depth of flavors. This is a great winter soup since it has a hearty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
A strange soup for sure, but so good. The name alone blows people's minds. It's very hearty, so be sure to serve with something light, like a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Absolutly delicious!!! I've made African Peanut soup before and this was better!!!!!!! Everyone loved it, especially our 18mo old. THANX!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is just like the groundnut soup here in West Africa. I add chicken to it and I use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States