West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Quick, simple, and just wonderful! As I usually use about 3/4 of a jar of 18 oz peanut butter, I altered the recipe a bit with another 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, 2 cans of 8 oz (?) diced tomatoes with green chilies, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (spicy, I love), 3 bell peppers, and 3/4 c rice. Everything else stays the same, though another cup or two of vegetable broth would help with the thickness. Also, I've found that I cannot chop onion for anything (very strong!), so I use my food processor to dice as needed. making it at least once every few months lasts awhile! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happystarbug
Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I subbed in quinoa for the rice because I wanted to use some I had on hand. Otherwise, I was faithful to the recipe. My husband, who is the second pickiest eater in the world, loved it. In fact, he said it is extremely similar to the sauce used in the "peanut butter chicken" from his favorite Chinese restaurant in Omaha, so after years of searching, I have stumbled across a good recipe for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is amazing, as listed! However, it's even more amazing if you add 2 diced sweet potatoes (we left the skins on them). An unusual, but delicious combination of flavors. If you make the rice separately and add in as desired, it makes for easier storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Elizabeth Monts

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was looking for a vegetarian soup to bring to a gathering and this was a big hit with my non-veg friends! It was quick and easy to make. My only additions to the recipe was a sweet potato and a jar of hot salsa to give it a little heat, (but not too spicy). I will definately be making this again and again, but with a little more red pepper for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Tasty, filling, unusual soup that was devoured by my in-laws, much to my surprise! I added chicken, which made it a full meal. Add the brown rice earlier if it usually takes 40 minutes to cook, or if its a ten minute Uncle Bens version, use the recipe. I used tinned tomatoes with chilli already in it to kick up the heat, and organic crunchy peanut butter added to taste at the end. Would recommend take some hot soup out and mixing it with the peanut butter as a paste, or you will end up chasing spoons of it around the pan tying to get it to blend! Already made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaqueline Bush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JK
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Wonderful, rich taste. Beautiful soup. Crusty bread a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious. I added too much peanut butter (I prefer to bite into some peanut bits occ. so used crunchy pb) so will cut back to what the recipe calls for the next time. My goof up made it quite thick. Wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm allergic to onions, so used another 2 large cloves of garlic and my husband and I were pleasently surprised with the wonderful taste. Thank You for this great Vegan recipe (We have relatives that are Vegans and this is so easy, I can't wait to make this for them.) The flavor was mild and good for people sensitive to hot spicy foods. I will take it to Pot Luck on Sunday (We have some Vegans at church and not a lot of Vegan food.). However, when I make it next time for close friends I'll add a little more of the pepper flakes since I can't use onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe is great but I did change some stuff too. I used chicken stock instead of veg and a teaspoon of cayenne instead of the red pepper flakes, I like spicy food! I also used quinoa instead of rice and added chicken, about a lb of breast, when the first 15 min simmer happened the took at out, cut it in chunks and added it back later after the peanut butter went in. The other thing I did was to use my emersion blender right before I added the quinoa. This soup is amazing and so healthy! Happy cooking all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States