West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I have made this many times, and while it is wonderful as is, I have tweaked it to make it a little healthier. First, I add some carrots and celery to increase the veggie content, and only use about 3/4 - 1 cup peanut butter, which is plenty. If you find this is not thick enough, I sometimes make a cornstarch slurry to give it the same consistency as the original. I also use fire-roasted tomatoes in this, as it adds a particular rustic flavor to it. Either way, this soup is requested all the time at my work parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Guinea in West Africa and this is a very popular dish there. This recipe is more or less the same as what they make there. I've had this probably 200 times and I still make it here in the US. I don't even use vegetable broth, water is fine. It's also good to add a sweet starchy vegetable like sweet potatoes or butternut squash. But the biggest difference between the African version and this recipe is how it's served. I was surprised to see this being served as a soup. It's very, very rich! In Africa, they typically pour two ladels or so over a plate of rice. And if you're serving it over rice, 2-3 lbs of chicken or beef turn it into a very hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is just like the groundnut soup here in West Africa. I add chicken to it and I use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I like this better than the African Peanut Soup from this site, it has more flavor and richness thanks to more peanut butter and pepper flakes. I made this with almond butter (really good) and quinoa instead of rice (also delicious), coconut instead of olive oil. I would like this better with crushed tomatoes. I added a diced sweet potato. One review suggested using water instead of broth, so I used less broth -- needed more flavor, maybe cinnamon? Next time I will use the full amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Yum yum yum! Being a peanut butter lover and always looking for new taste combinations thought I'd give this a try. Fantastic. If you don't LOVE peanut butter, you may want to cut it back a little. Ends up being pretty creamy - might be too much for some. But for me - EXCELLENT. Definitely serve with crusty bread for dipping. Also, apple slices compliment this soup well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Tasty, filling, unusual soup that was devoured by my in-laws, much to my surprise! I added chicken, which made it a full meal. Add the brown rice earlier if it usually takes 40 minutes to cook, or if its a ten minute Uncle Bens version, use the recipe. I used tinned tomatoes with chilli already in it to kick up the heat, and organic crunchy peanut butter added to taste at the end. Would recommend take some hot soup out and mixing it with the peanut butter as a paste, or you will end up chasing spoons of it around the pan tying to get it to blend! Already made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made it pretty much as is. Except I added African "pepper", which is like cayenne pepper. It definitely needed it, in addition to the red pepper flakes, for my taste. I threw the onions, garlic, and bell peppers in the food processor and it was finely chopped within a few seconds. I used virgin coconut and red palm oils. I recommend using a natural peanut butter: which is just peanuts and salt. It tastes (and looks) like a spicy, savory peanut sauce, not unlike what you would find in a Chinese restaurant with duck. I can imagine it would be nice with a roasted chicken thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made this recipe tonight, and my husband and I did not care for it. It is way too peanut-buttery and rich for our taste, made me feel sick after eating half my bowl. Too bad because the ingredients (especially the red peppers and peanut butter) are not cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at my house. I like to use the canned diced tomatoes with added green chilies for the extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
What a great recipe. I put the onions, peppers, and garlic in the food processor to mince them and it came out great. I also chopped up the tomatoes before adding them too. I made this for myself first, then for a family dinner. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States