West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Before adding the peanut butter, the broth was so good, I was afraid of ruining it. I was skeptical, but this recipe is fantastic! Definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
this was almost good. i think the texture bothered me the most. it was way too thick. i used natural peanut butter, so i felt it necessary to add some brown sugar...i added a serrano pepper and extra chile flakes, but it still wasn't spicy enough for me. i would probably use a little more rice, too. the flavor was almost what i was hoping for, but i'm not sure if i'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I was skeptical, but now I'm a believer! I used the college student method of garlic powder and onion powder and let everything boil while I wrote a paper. I think it would be great garnished with fresh herbs (cilantro?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Not as flavorful as we had thought it would turn out, though it grew on us as we ate it. I have to say that the addition of freshly sliced apples on the side, as one reviewer suggested, would have been perfect. And an even better suggestion by my husband was to add pineapple. It's very filling and was interesting (in a mostly positive way) for trying something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Yum yum yum! Being a peanut butter lover and always looking for new taste combinations thought I'd give this a try. Fantastic. If you don't LOVE peanut butter, you may want to cut it back a little. Ends up being pretty creamy - might be too much for some. But for me - EXCELLENT. Definitely serve with crusty bread for dipping. Also, apple slices compliment this soup well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I have made this many times, and while it is wonderful as is, I have tweaked it to make it a little healthier. First, I add some carrots and celery to increase the veggie content, and only use about 3/4 - 1 cup peanut butter, which is plenty. If you find this is not thick enough, I sometimes make a cornstarch slurry to give it the same consistency as the original. I also use fire-roasted tomatoes in this, as it adds a particular rustic flavor to it. Either way, this soup is requested all the time at my work parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
What a great recipe. I put the onions, peppers, and garlic in the food processor to mince them and it came out great. I also chopped up the tomatoes before adding them too. I made this for myself first, then for a family dinner. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States