West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is a good vegetarian recipe with ingredients that I almost always have on hand. Peanut butter in soup is a little different than the usual veggies which makes for a plesant change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
The only reservation I had is that the taste although terrific seemed more like a side dish and not a main entree. I am vegetarian, but my bf who loves meat decided to eat frozen food after taking two bites. This is the first time he did not eat what I made. This was a really, really unique taste and I think most will be pleased I will make again and I froze the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
A strange soup for sure, but so good. The name alone blows people's minds. It's very hearty, so be sure to serve with something light, like a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This is delicious and very easy. I added Lawry's Seasoning Salt and more rice to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is just like the groundnut soup here in West Africa. I add chicken to it and I use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Absolutly delicious!!! I've made African Peanut soup before and this was better!!!!!!! Everyone loved it, especially our 18mo old. THANX!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is delicious and perfect just the way it is!! I have made this recipe several times, and will make it many more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMUIGIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Served this at a dinner party, and everyone loved it. It was WAY too thick, though. And it really seemed too creamy. In the future I'd probably halve the peanut butter and decrease the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Awesome soup!!! Hubby and I both loved it. A few minor changes... I used 4 cups chicken broth (instead of vegetable broth) and excluded the rice. Also, I used peanut oil instead of olive oil and only 2/3 cup peanut butter (don't need whole jar - way too much fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is one keeper! My husband and I love the depth of flavors. This is a great winter soup since it has a hearty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States