West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is amazing, as listed! However, it's even more amazing if you add 2 diced sweet potatoes (we left the skins on them). An unusual, but delicious combination of flavors. If you make the rice separately and add in as desired, it makes for easier storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Elizabeth Monts

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was looking for a vegetarian soup to bring to a gathering and this was a big hit with my non-veg friends! It was quick and easy to make. My only additions to the recipe was a sweet potato and a jar of hot salsa to give it a little heat, (but not too spicy). I will definately be making this again and again, but with a little more red pepper for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Tasty, filling, unusual soup that was devoured by my in-laws, much to my surprise! I added chicken, which made it a full meal. Add the brown rice earlier if it usually takes 40 minutes to cook, or if its a ten minute Uncle Bens version, use the recipe. I used tinned tomatoes with chilli already in it to kick up the heat, and organic crunchy peanut butter added to taste at the end. Would recommend take some hot soup out and mixing it with the peanut butter as a paste, or you will end up chasing spoons of it around the pan tying to get it to blend! Already made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JK
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Wonderful, rich taste. Beautiful soup. Crusty bread a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious. I added too much peanut butter (I prefer to bite into some peanut bits occ. so used crunchy pb) so will cut back to what the recipe calls for the next time. My goof up made it quite thick. Wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm allergic to onions, so used another 2 large cloves of garlic and my husband and I were pleasently surprised with the wonderful taste. Thank You for this great Vegan recipe (We have relatives that are Vegans and this is so easy, I can't wait to make this for them.) The flavor was mild and good for people sensitive to hot spicy foods. I will take it to Pot Luck on Sunday (We have some Vegans at church and not a lot of Vegan food.). However, when I make it next time for close friends I'll add a little more of the pepper flakes since I can't use onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe is great but I did change some stuff too. I used chicken stock instead of veg and a teaspoon of cayenne instead of the red pepper flakes, I like spicy food! I also used quinoa instead of rice and added chicken, about a lb of breast, when the first 15 min simmer happened the took at out, cut it in chunks and added it back later after the peanut butter went in. The other thing I did was to use my emersion blender right before I added the quinoa. This soup is amazing and so healthy! Happy cooking all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Awesome. I used a little less peanut butter, a little more tomato and added some apples and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
As written, it was WAY WAY WAY to peanut-buttery. I just felt like I was eating hot peanut butter, but there is potential for this dish yet. I recommend to anyone making this for the first time to ADD THE PEANUT BUTTER SLOWLY WHILE TASTING IT. The bites I had with red peppers or tomatoes in them were good, but just too much peanut taste otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States