West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This recipe was just not good. It was way too salty and there wasn't much flavor. To rescue it I turned it into pad thai. There are probably better recipes for this type of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made it pretty much as is. Except I added African "pepper", which is like cayenne pepper. It definitely needed it, in addition to the red pepper flakes, for my taste. I threw the onions, garlic, and bell peppers in the food processor and it was finely chopped within a few seconds. I used virgin coconut and red palm oils. I recommend using a natural peanut butter: which is just peanuts and salt. It tastes (and looks) like a spicy, savory peanut sauce, not unlike what you would find in a Chinese restaurant with duck. I can imagine it would be nice with a roasted chicken thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I like this better than the African Peanut Soup from this site, it has more flavor and richness thanks to more peanut butter and pepper flakes. I made this with almond butter (really good) and quinoa instead of rice (also delicious), coconut instead of olive oil. I would like this better with crushed tomatoes. I added a diced sweet potato. One review suggested using water instead of broth, so I used less broth -- needed more flavor, maybe cinnamon? Next time I will use the full amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Oh, so good! Less rice, more hot pepper flakes. Delish! Will pass along to my culinary sister and I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETEANDKRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
The most crucial thing I would recommend is not adding the peanut butter blindly, but bit by bit, to ensure it doesn't exceed your taste. I halved this recipe, and still found a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter too overpowering. I added more chili and more tomato to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
So easy and good, we'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe inspired me to make some slight changes that I knew our family would appreciate. I love peanut butter and ginger together so used about 1 1/2 inch of grated fresh ginger when I put in the garlic. I also substituted salsa for the canned tomat's and curry pwder for the chile powder. Threw in some diced carrots, chopped cauliflower and cooked jasmine rice separately. Mmmmmm mmmmm! Ooops! almost forgot, chopped scallions sprinkled on top as you serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I liked it. Would have added more veggies and less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is one of the tastiest, simpliest soups I've ever made!! I catered meals for 14 college kids (13 of them being boys) and made this soup. They ADORED it and I even had a few of them ask me for the recipe...college boys...crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Probably my favorite allrecipes find. I love it with plenty of peanut butter, unlike some commenters. I often add a cubed sweet potato or butternut squash, and I make mine very hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States