West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Oh, so good! Less rice, more hot pepper flakes. Delish! Will pass along to my culinary sister and I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETEANDKRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
The most crucial thing I would recommend is not adding the peanut butter blindly, but bit by bit, to ensure it doesn't exceed your taste. I halved this recipe, and still found a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter too overpowering. I added more chili and more tomato to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
So easy and good, we'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe inspired me to make some slight changes that I knew our family would appreciate. I love peanut butter and ginger together so used about 1 1/2 inch of grated fresh ginger when I put in the garlic. I also substituted salsa for the canned tomat's and curry pwder for the chile powder. Threw in some diced carrots, chopped cauliflower and cooked jasmine rice separately. Mmmmmm mmmmm! Ooops! almost forgot, chopped scallions sprinkled on top as you serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I liked it. Would have added more veggies and less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is one of the tastiest, simpliest soups I've ever made!! I catered meals for 14 college kids (13 of them being boys) and made this soup. They ADORED it and I even had a few of them ask me for the recipe...college boys...crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Probably my favorite allrecipes find. I love it with plenty of peanut butter, unlike some commenters. I often add a cubed sweet potato or butternut squash, and I make mine very hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Quick, simple, and just wonderful! As I usually use about 3/4 of a jar of 18 oz peanut butter, I altered the recipe a bit with another 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, 2 cans of 8 oz (?) diced tomatoes with green chilies, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (spicy, I love), 3 bell peppers, and 3/4 c rice. Everything else stays the same, though another cup or two of vegetable broth would help with the thickness. Also, I've found that I cannot chop onion for anything (very strong!), so I use my food processor to dice as needed. making it at least once every few months lasts awhile! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happystarbug
Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I subbed in quinoa for the rice because I wanted to use some I had on hand. Otherwise, I was faithful to the recipe. My husband, who is the second pickiest eater in the world, loved it. In fact, he said it is extremely similar to the sauce used in the "peanut butter chicken" from his favorite Chinese restaurant in Omaha, so after years of searching, I have stumbled across a good recipe for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States