West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was delicious. Even my meat-n-potatoes-preferring dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I thought the taste was phenomenal! So different from anything I have ever tasted, but made with ingredients I eat almost every day! Warm, comforting, creamy, with a hint of spice.... BUT, since it was such a different taste I was pretty much the only one who liked it. Therefore, in reference to being a crowd-pleaser I have rated it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I just finished cooking, and my family keeps sneaking a cup here and there---they love it! I didn't alter much---though I saved the red pepper for people to add individually ( I have little ones that aren't crazy about it), and was surprised it thickened up like it did. Definitely saving! Thanks!! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senecalakegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branchport, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This soup is AWESOME! I had it for the first time in 2008 at a writers' retreat. The retreat took place at Lake Logan, NC and the staff there made this our first night. They ended up handing out quite a few copies of the recipe as everyone really loved it. It's just the right spicy, so very tasty, and not too difficult to make. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanbellnc
Living In: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I liked this recipe more than I expected! I used half a jar of peanut butter and it turned out about right. The only reason I didn't give it a "5" is that I feel like it needs more spices, but I'm not exactly sure what to add. Overall, the peanut butter flavor gives the soup a sweet flavor and a smooth texture. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
A great vegetarian soup! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I substituted sweet potatos for the bell peppers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
OMG! This is so good just the way it is written. If you are a peanut butter fanatic, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good, although I made some adjustments. I added 4 chopped up carrots, 2 chopped celery stalks and left out the red bell pepper and rice. I used crushed tomatoes as well as canned diced and a little less peanut butter. I followed recipe directions but added peanut butter at same time as tomatoes and simmered uncovered about 2 hours. Served over brown rice cooked separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was disappointed. It is WAY too peanut-buttery. Almost like eating straight peanut butter with the occasional tomato bite. If I ever make this again, I will cut the peanut butter by at least half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Creamy, flavorful. More filling than you'd expect. My family told me it's the best thing I've ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Charb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States