West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was good--it reminded me a lot of the "fancy ramen" I make when we're feeling poor, where I just take cheap 50 cent ramen packets, cook it, add some veggies and a scoop of peanut butter. So to make it fancier, I added African spices and seasoning. Probably wouldn't make again following this exact recipe, but definitely good, still as this was no doubt a lot healthier than the "fancy ramen."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious! A favorite soup for a chilly weekend supper. I get asked for this recipe quite a bit. I add sratcha red pepper sauce for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was awesome. I was super skeptical but I had a lot of natural peanut butter to use up and I'm so glad I made this. I used a homemade lamb stock instead of vegetable stock, added chunks of beef stew meat, and a little kosher salt at the end. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The 2nd different recipe for peanut stew I've tried. It was excellent. I added a sweet potato and substituted a small amount (so my wife would eat it) of habanero peppers for the crushed red pepper. It was quite sweet but not in a overpowering way. I my use a natural peanut butter to reduce the amount of sugar the next time I may it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I love peanut butter but the peanut butter taste overpowered any other flavor in this soup. I am going to make it again but use ½ the amount of peanut butter and then I think it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Very tasty. I would advise adding the peanut butter GRADUALLY until you have it to your level of "peanut buttery-ness", because it can get overwhelmingly rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was a nice hearty soup. I followed the recipe pretty closely...only changes I made were to half the recipe, used chicken broth instead of veggie broth and brown rice that I cooked separately. Once the soup was done, I added some of the cooked rice and blended with my immersion blender until it was nice and smooth. Served with a scoop of cooked rice and a sprinkling of cinnamon....very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Over the last couple of years, my boyfriend and I have cooked this dish countless times. I always get excited when we decide to add it to the menu for the week. It's a very large recipe (the only thing we own that will hold the whole thing is our dutch oven) but we never cut it in half, because we love being able to eat this for several more days after we make it. On top of that, it's great for having guests over. They always greet it with the same response: "Peanut soup? Interesting. I'm excited to see how it tastes." We've never served it to anyone with a negative response. In a nut shell, this is a simple meal that anyone can make, and it will return the favor by feeding you for days to come. The only kind of person I can imagine not liking it is someone who hates peanut butter, or just has a very bland palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was delicious. Even my meat-n-potatoes-preferring dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I thought the taste was phenomenal! So different from anything I have ever tasted, but made with ingredients I eat almost every day! Warm, comforting, creamy, with a hint of spice.... BUT, since it was such a different taste I was pretty much the only one who liked it. Therefore, in reference to being a crowd-pleaser I have rated it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States