West African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
One of our favorites on cold, dreary winter days! Perfect with crusty bread and a side salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We love this recipe and make it often. Before this my boyfriend refused to eat spinach now he loves it ( as long as it's in this! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This wasn't bad though I thought it needed more salt, maybe salting the chicken prior to cooking but it tasted a little bland to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Made with my kids tonight using left over turkey rather than chicken. My near 3 yr old had two helpings. I will make again, but I will reduce the potato and add about a cup more stock. Overall all very filling recipe and pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Was so good, my boyfriend is waiting for me to make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is one of my go-too-stews. Just because I normally have these in my fridge I do sweet potatoes, carrots, red pepper, onion, and and entire package of frozen spinach. I have even replaced the chicken with chickpeas and it still turned out great. This recipe freezes really nicely as well. It always makes everyone in the staff room jelous when I heat it up at work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I had thought I had coriander but did not. It would have helped this recipe. I added a touch of lemon pepper and chili powder to try to offset the missing coriander. I also added a can of chick peas which worked well. Hubby didn't stop at the store so I had no spinach. All in all, recipe was very good. I did not add potatoes and put stew on top. I will make again once I get some coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
added cannelini beans and didn't use water at all..only chicken stock...no spinach either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This stuff is addictive. I made it with celery, bell peppers, scallions, and carrots instead of spinach. The family was very happy with the result. I used a dash of ground red pepper flakes, which was perfect and avoided hot spots of crushed flakes. It's not a bad idea to season the chicken with salt, pepper, cumin and garlic while cooking. This one's definitely going on the "heavy rotation" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The foundation ingredients here are good, but I changed it up quite a bit. Used prescribed amount of chicken, and all chicken stock and vegetable stock, way more than 2 cups. Did 3 Tsp of cumin, added 1tsp of curry powder and 1 tsp tumeric and 5 cloves garlic. Extra salt and pepper, It still need helped so I added a large can crushed tomatoes, and small can of whole tomatoes, That did it! Created the taste combo I was looking for. Also used mushrooms carrots, celery, and bay. Just a trace amount of potatoes (2 small) which I added at the end. Then a huge container of baby organic spinach once I turned off the heat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States