West African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wonderful, satisfying comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crozet, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
One of our favorites on cold, dreary winter days! Perfect with crusty bread and a side salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We love this recipe and make it often. Before this my boyfriend refused to eat spinach now he loves it ( as long as it's in this! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This wasn't bad though I thought it needed more salt, maybe salting the chicken prior to cooking but it tasted a little bland to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Made with my kids tonight using left over turkey rather than chicken. My near 3 yr old had two helpings. I will make again, but I will reduce the potato and add about a cup more stock. Overall all very filling recipe and pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Was so good, my boyfriend is waiting for me to make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is one of my go-too-stews. Just because I normally have these in my fridge I do sweet potatoes, carrots, red pepper, onion, and and entire package of frozen spinach. I have even replaced the chicken with chickpeas and it still turned out great. This recipe freezes really nicely as well. It always makes everyone in the staff room jelous when I heat it up at work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I had thought I had coriander but did not. It would have helped this recipe. I added a touch of lemon pepper and chili powder to try to offset the missing coriander. I also added a can of chick peas which worked well. Hubby didn't stop at the store so I had no spinach. All in all, recipe was very good. I did not add potatoes and put stew on top. I will make again once I get some coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
added cannelini beans and didn't use water at all..only chicken stock...no spinach either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This stuff is addictive. I made it with celery, bell peppers, scallions, and carrots instead of spinach. The family was very happy with the result. I used a dash of ground red pepper flakes, which was perfect and avoided hot spots of crushed flakes. It's not a bad idea to season the chicken with salt, pepper, cumin and garlic while cooking. This one's definitely going on the "heavy rotation" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States