Wendy's Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Oh wow! This recipe is every bit as flavorful as the other reviewers make it out to be! Totally a keeper! I read a bunch of reviews and based on them substituted low-fat yogurt for the heavy cream, a can of tomato sauce for the fresh tomatoes, and increased the Garam Masala slightly. It turned out wonderfully and I feel so much better that there isn't heavy cream in it (for a healthier meal). Other reviewers suggested substituting mushrooms for the bell pepper, but I found the bell pepper adds a really nice flavor. I wouldn't substitute it at all, it really adds a lot. Anyways, that's my two cents :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Kids loved it but I found it way too salty. Next time a third the salt and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Excellent flavor... my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
great - I added a tinge of milk powder and some savory and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
My husband and myself love Indian food this recipe is awesome!!! We spiced it up a little with red pepper and added just a dash of sugar.....also I did not have fresh tomatoes so I used 2 cans of petite diced with green chiles. Serve this up with some Basmati rice and mmm..mmm..mmm We look forward to making this again!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
omg we loved this recipe! the only thing i did differntly was i followed the suggestion to add one cup of cream, but only half a cup of butter. and i cooked the chicken seperately, seasoned with salt and garam masala as it cooked. Then i stirred it in and let it simmer for about 20 more minutes. Too delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ball Ground, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Some Indian recipes are too spice-filled for my tastes, or just have flavors that are totally unfamiliar to me, but my family & I thought this recipe was just perfect. I followed the suggestions to use plain yogurt instead of cream and I added more butter. It was delicious! (And not too strange for those who haven't had a lot of Indian food.) Plus: it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Love the butter chicken at restaurants, and therefore disappointed with the recipe. It was very difficult to get rid of the tomato taste, despite placing extra amounts of sugar and spice and butter to mask the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I have made this recipe soooo many times and variations.My family loves it, I prefer to use mushrooms instead of the green pepper and 2 tins of chopped tomatoes and not fresh ones, I always leave it to cook for an extra hour as this allows the sauce to thicken and condense......my 11y.o daughter(who hates spice) is now totally addicted to this recipe and would gladly eat it every second day!!!! All I can really say is that if you take the time to tweak it to your own tastes this is an absolute ripper of a dish,mmmmmmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
exactly what i was looking for!!! i had this dish at "taste of india" in seattle. its the best! even my picky three year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa l

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States