Welsh Tea Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Went over very well. I had seen another recipe for Bara Brith that had mixed peel with currants instead of raisins so I tried that & liked it better than just raisins. I'm going to try one made with yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made this bread and followed the directions to a tea. It has a very strong molasses flavor that my husband and I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Good old "Bara Brith" any welsh lad brought up on this on the kitchen table will always go for this instead of chocolate or cookies. Cymru am byth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this tea loaf for work and the comments were excellent! I followed the directions exactly and the 2 loaves came out so moist and just the right amount of sweetness for my taste. It's a very simple recipe to follow. I did have the bake a little longer than suggested, but after 55 minutes I just did the "toothpick test", and after an additional 10 minutes the loaves were perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santuzza's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I needed something vegan and wanted to use what I had on hand, so I messed with this so much it could hardly be called the same recipe. However since the result deserved like 6 stars, I figured I owe this recipe at least 5!! :) Here is what I did: 2 cups water 1/2 c. raisins 4 t. baking soda 1/3 c. chopped dates 1/3 c. walnuts, chopped 1 c. applesauce 1/2 c. oil 1 1/2 c. sugar 3 eggs 2/3 c. molasses 1 t. vanilla 1/2 t. salt 4 1/2 c. flour 2 t. baking powder Heat water and raisins to boiling. Remove from heat and add baking soda, then dates and walnuts. Blend applesauce, oil, and sugar. Add eggs, molasses, vanilla, and salt. Graduaully add flour and baking powder. Grease and flour pans (grease with oil to retain parve). Pour batter into pans. (24 mini loaves) Bake 15-18 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I love this recipe! It always goes fast and is quite simply the best quick bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was very tasty. I even accidentally overcooked one loaf, and it still came out moist and sweet. I used half chopped dates & half raisins because I didn't have enough raisins, and it was good. One note: this made more than two 9x5 loaf pans for me. I filled the loaf pans up to about an inch below the top (I was worried they would overflow), and I had enough extra batter to fill another mini loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
As a welsh girl my self, this is a good recipe. My only criticism is that it is called bara brith not welsh tea loaf. But tasty all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
The subtle molasses taste is very nice, and I like the dark, rich color of the bread. I used golden raisins, which I definitely think is the way to go with the dark color of the bread itself. I would recommend this one and will be baking it again myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made this several times and it went very fast! I even made it for Christmas gifts. They were well received! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States