Welsh Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is a very nice, soft cookie that will be a compliment to any tea! It has a great, delicate flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I used to have an authentic Welsh Cake recipe, cooked on a griddle, but it has been misplaced. I tried this recipe to replace it; it is probably easier, being baked in the oven and turning out more like a cookie, but the taste is as I remember from the recipe I used to have, and the directions are clear and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have made this recipe several time. My Family and Friends love it. I boil the raisins for a few minutes till soft and drain them well to make it eaiser to work with. then drain well. Dust with sm amt of flour. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinmomma
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Bought some Welsh Tea Cakes at a Celtic Fair last year and have been excited about trying to make these at home. The texture was just right. Plan to use this recipe as my base for experimenting with different flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Great recipe I followed it exactly except I did add a little bit more sugar. Just taste your dough and tweak it to your taste. Other than that this tea cake recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Scotaway is correct. Welsh cakes should be cooked on a bake stone but a frying pan or electric griddle works well. Welsh cakes also have currents, not raisins. My cousin also adds a tablespoon of of decicated coconut if she she is mailing them away to help keep them fresher longer. For egg alergy, I have used 1/4 cup applesauce instead of egg, it worked very well. Glenys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wembley, Middlesex, England, U.K.
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
My only problem with this recipe is that raisins are too fat for a rolled cookie so I used currants instead. I also experimented with other liquids I could use instead of milk. Pumpkin pie filling and condensed tomato soup worked well. Yes, tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Unfortunately the directions are not clear enough especially when people have never had Welsh tea cake. Definitely make on a griddle - otherwise the results are far from good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My welsh friend tells me that they should be baked on top of the stove on a griddle (I DO MINE ON A LARGE FRY PAN I DONT HAVE A GRIDDLE) couple of minutes each side on a medium heat. Place on a plate with a clean tea cloth over till cool, then place in airtight container till required, but the wont last long. spread with butter, yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
A very nice tea cookie. Especially with jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States