Welsh Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
This recipe has replaced the one I have used for more than 30 years! Always comes out great! Thanks, Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
My husband amazed and extremly happy when I found this recipe. He had been looking for it for years. It is exactly like he remembered and very easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
My whole family loved it! I have never seen my 2 year old eat something so fast and ask for more! They especially like to eat this after playing hard in the snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
mmmmmmm, what delicious comfort food! i substituted beer for the milk, added a sprinkle more cayenne then poured the cheese sauce over toasted open-faced turkey, bacon & tomato sandwiches (like a devonshire). sweet dreams, patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was a really delicious recipe. Have had this as a child, and this was exactly as I remembered it. Great comfort food. Very cheesy. It's also safe to add more of the spices without it being too intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
The trick to this recipe is using a combination of beer and milk (yes, both work well together!). We have made this since I was a little kid with this recipe: 16 slices bread, 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened, 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup porter or ale, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper 6 oz extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated (about 1 1/2 cups). We as kids tore up the toast because it was fun, the adults cut it up with a fork and knife. It's also called Buck Rabbit (or rarebit) if you put a fried egg on the toast. This is the closest I could find to the old recipe I used from the old Betty Crocker recipe. The Welsh Rarebit recipes are off too, because you shouldn't use processed cheese or tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I love Welsh Rabbit. It's a nice simple meal. This is a regular menu item in my house. It's a perfect autumn comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this for dinner on Easter because I thought it would be funny! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and used beer instead of milk. I found it to taste pretty bitter even after simmering for several minutes so will use milk next time. There was WAY too much flour in the recipe and I had to add at least a cup and a half of water to it. I'll probably make this again for Easter next year but use the milk and cut way down on the flour! OThanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! I live in a very dry climate, and had to add an additional 1/4 cup liquid, but except for that I followed the recipe exactly. I think this is one that we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. My kids even wanted to eat the sauce straight from a bowl. Next time I will try to use beer to see if I like that flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States