Welsh Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
mmmmmmm, what delicious comfort food! i substituted beer for the milk, added a sprinkle more cayenne then poured the cheese sauce over toasted open-faced turkey, bacon & tomato sandwiches (like a devonshire). sweet dreams, patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was a really delicious recipe. Have had this as a child, and this was exactly as I remembered it. Great comfort food. Very cheesy. It's also safe to add more of the spices without it being too intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
This recipe has replaced the one I have used for more than 30 years! Always comes out great! Thanks, Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
My husband amazed and extremly happy when I found this recipe. He had been looking for it for years. It is exactly like he remembered and very easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
My whole family loved it! I have never seen my 2 year old eat something so fast and ask for more! They especially like to eat this after playing hard in the snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this for dinner on Easter because I thought it would be funny! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and used beer instead of milk. I found it to taste pretty bitter even after simmering for several minutes so will use milk next time. There was WAY too much flour in the recipe and I had to add at least a cup and a half of water to it. I'll probably make this again for Easter next year but use the milk and cut way down on the flour! OThanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
The trick to this recipe is using a combination of beer and milk (yes, both work well together!). We have made this since I was a little kid with this recipe: 16 slices bread, 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened, 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup porter or ale, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper 6 oz extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated (about 1 1/2 cups). We as kids tore up the toast because it was fun, the adults cut it up with a fork and knife. It's also called Buck Rabbit (or rarebit) if you put a fried egg on the toast. This is the closest I could find to the old recipe I used from the old Betty Crocker recipe. The Welsh Rarebit recipes are off too, because you shouldn't use processed cheese or tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! I live in a very dry climate, and had to add an additional 1/4 cup liquid, but except for that I followed the recipe exactly. I think this is one that we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. My kids even wanted to eat the sauce straight from a bowl. Next time I will try to use beer to see if I like that flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I love Welsh Rabbit. It's a nice simple meal. This is a regular menu item in my house. It's a perfect autumn comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States