Welsh Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
My Welsh mother-in-law tells me you MUST make this with beer, not milk. Will try that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
The trick to this recipe is using a combination of beer and milk (yes, both work well together!). We have made this since I was a little kid with this recipe: 16 slices bread, 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened, 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup porter or ale, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper 6 oz extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated (about 1 1/2 cups). We as kids tore up the toast because it was fun, the adults cut it up with a fork and knife. It's also called Buck Rabbit (or rarebit) if you put a fried egg on the toast. This is the closest I could find to the old recipe I used from the old Betty Crocker recipe. The Welsh Rarebit recipes are off too, because you shouldn't use processed cheese or tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! I live in a very dry climate, and had to add an additional 1/4 cup liquid, but except for that I followed the recipe exactly. I think this is one that we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Good stuff! Try adding a couple of slices of tomato on the toast before topping with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I substituted beer for milk. My daughter and I loved it; my husband didn't. Apparently he feels that cheese and bread don't make an adequate supper - even with a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
My great grandmother used to make this when I was a kid and it's been a long time since I've had it. Very good over white toast. Tastes best when made with an ale or strong beer. This is a very tangy dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
My husband amazed and extremly happy when I found this recipe. He had been looking for it for years. It is exactly like he remembered and very easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Bland, but a good base to add on to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very VERY bland. Did what I cold to spice it up and add flavor.....but nothing would work. Sorry but I wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Not bad. Try beer instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States