Welsh Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was very good. It brought back memories of my 7th grade cooking class, except that we added sweet peas to the mixture and served over crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Bland, but a good base to add on to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I liked this recipe but I had to add the flour after the milk and would recommend sifting the flour first as well. Also as written it was a little bland so I increased the amounts of cayenne, worchestershire, and dry mustard to taste and would probably add more next time! I also recommend turning the heat up to low/med or medium even depending on your stove top. Overall though a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. My kids even wanted to eat the sauce straight from a bowl. Next time I will try to use beer to see if I like that flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! I live in a very dry climate, and had to add an additional 1/4 cup liquid, but except for that I followed the recipe exactly. I think this is one that we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very VERY bland. Did what I cold to spice it up and add flavor.....but nothing would work. Sorry but I wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was a really delicious recipe. Have had this as a child, and this was exactly as I remembered it. Great comfort food. Very cheesy. It's also safe to add more of the spices without it being too intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
The trick to this recipe is using a combination of beer and milk (yes, both work well together!). We have made this since I was a little kid with this recipe: 16 slices bread, 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened, 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup porter or ale, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper 6 oz extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated (about 1 1/2 cups). We as kids tore up the toast because it was fun, the adults cut it up with a fork and knife. It's also called Buck Rabbit (or rarebit) if you put a fried egg on the toast. This is the closest I could find to the old recipe I used from the old Betty Crocker recipe. The Welsh Rarebit recipes are off too, because you shouldn't use processed cheese or tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this for dinner on Easter because I thought it would be funny! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and used beer instead of milk. I found it to taste pretty bitter even after simmering for several minutes so will use milk next time. There was WAY too much flour in the recipe and I had to add at least a cup and a half of water to it. I'll probably make this again for Easter next year but use the milk and cut way down on the flour! OThanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
mmmmmmm, what delicious comfort food! i substituted beer for the milk, added a sprinkle more cayenne then poured the cheese sauce over toasted open-faced turkey, bacon & tomato sandwiches (like a devonshire). sweet dreams, patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States