Welsh Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I first tasted these on a trip to Wales and just had to have a recipe. It took me a little while to find it because the vendor who sold me them called them Welsh cakes. (What we call cookies are usually cakes or biscuits in GB) The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly and they tasted just like I remembered them. Now I usually use raisins because I have them on hand but don't keep currants in the cabinet. I always make a double batch because my husband eats them a fast as I can take them off the griddle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Very good, although I do think they need cinnamon and/or nutmeg added. And I had to adjust the temperature of my pan as well. I did use a cast iron skillet, and did not have to grease it. Next time, I may try using butter only and no shortening, and reduce the baking powder to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrayEyed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were quite a little surprise for me! If you are looking for a regular "cookie" this is not it. This is a cross between a scone and a cookie and it's very different and addictive. The amount of sugar is perfect in my opinion, I did not sprinkle with extra like some people have done and they were perfect. I made some small changes...I used raisins I finely chopped because I didn't have any currants in the house. I also don't keep shortening and my milk had gone bad so I used all butter for the fat and cold water instead of the milk. I added a very small bit of nutmeg and cinnamon too and used a scant 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp vanilla as well. I put the dry ingredients into my food processor and added the cold butter in pulses and then the egg and water which i had mixed together in a cup. I cooked them with only about 2 tsp of canola oil in a nonstick skillet. My cutter was about 2 inches wide so this recipe made 26 cakes for me. These will be perfect for a small snack with tea and fruit when I have a low appetite. They're comforting and not too rich or heavy and they definitely have that "somebodies grandma made these" feeling to them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These remind me of the cookies I would make with my grandmother as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This almost the exact replica of my husband's Welsh great-grandmother's recipe. I use 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 unsalted butter. This is the one Christmas cookie that I always have to make. Great with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Thank you for posting this. My Aunt and Grandmother used to make these and they are both gone now. I am grateful to be able to pass on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very similar to my Nana's. She used raisins instead of currants and hers had nutmeg in them. Seriously addictive after the second cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
"Cakes" not cookies.. The welsh regard cookies as an American sweet biscuit kinda like the normal chocolate chip cookie. You can like this recipe decorate it with sugar or spread a thin layer of butter to give it a little moisture. Ideally eaten with a nice cup of tea or as a chocolate bar alternative in a lunch box. The best way to cook the cakes are on an old cast iron pan where it has a used natural coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are so good........ I used all butter and raisins. I also added 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg along with a tsp. of vanilla. I have to admit I burnt the first batch and then adjusted the temperature of my pan accordingly. I sprinkled them with sugar and froze half the batch. Yet another breakfast treat for my husband to enjoy with his coffe at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States