Welsh Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
My grandfather was Welsh and I can remember my grandmother making Welsh cookies when I was a small child. I was so thrilled to see this recipe on the site and decided to give it a whirl after talking to a coworker from the UK who said he had not had the cookies since he was a kid either. My 3 year-old daughter helped me make the cookies and we both had a blast! Instead of currants (I couldn't find any at my local grocery store) we used dates because I don't particularly care for raisins. They tasted wonderful and came out looking great! My coworker from the UK said that they were excellent - just like the ones his Welsh "Nam" used to make. My boss loved them so much I swear he ate half the batch. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made these for Christmas, followed the recipe exactly except for the second batch I made I added 1/4 cup more sugar, turned out great. Thank You...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
i love these, they remind me of scones. I mix spices(cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg) with the flour. Also i rolol the dough into balls and squash them on the pan. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very similar to my Nana's. She used raisins instead of currants and hers had nutmeg in them. Seriously addictive after the second cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Taste like the cookies I buy at the Celtic festivals from the Welsh Cookie Company. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was just what I remembered from my Grandmother's house when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Best eaten warm out of the oven,with thin slices of apple and a milky cup of tea. I found this recipe a little too sweet , so my next batch I'll cut the sugar back .Otherwise yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I love these cookies because I don't like really sweet treats. They do taste like scones. I added a little nutmeg and orange zest. Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
wonderfully plain unsweet cookie, for those people who do not like sweets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Thank you for posting this. My Aunt and Grandmother used to make these and they are both gone now. I am grateful to be able to pass on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States