Welsh Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I thought they were a bit plain, but a friend who doesn't like his desserts very sweet really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Best eaten warm out of the oven,with thin slices of apple and a milky cup of tea. I found this recipe a little too sweet , so my next batch I'll cut the sugar back .Otherwise yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made these for Christmas, followed the recipe exactly except for the second batch I made I added 1/4 cup more sugar, turned out great. Thank You...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
wonderfully plain unsweet cookie, for those people who do not like sweets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I think 3 minutes on each side is way too long, unless the heat should really be between medium and low. I didn't put in currants because I have no idea where to find them, but I thought they still tasted alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I love these cookies because I don't like really sweet treats. They do taste like scones. I added a little nutmeg and orange zest. Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
i love these, they remind me of scones. I mix spices(cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg) with the flour. Also i rolol the dough into balls and squash them on the pan. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
My grandfather was Welsh and I can remember my grandmother making Welsh cookies when I was a small child. I was so thrilled to see this recipe on the site and decided to give it a whirl after talking to a coworker from the UK who said he had not had the cookies since he was a kid either. My 3 year-old daughter helped me make the cookies and we both had a blast! Instead of currants (I couldn't find any at my local grocery store) we used dates because I don't particularly care for raisins. They tasted wonderful and came out looking great! My coworker from the UK said that they were excellent - just like the ones his Welsh "Nam" used to make. My boss loved them so much I swear he ate half the batch. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was just what I remembered from my Grandmother's house when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Taste like the cookies I buy at the Celtic festivals from the Welsh Cookie Company. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States