Welsh Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Love these! I use currents and add some lemon or orange zest at times. They are a big hit at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Leeder Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I'm not fond of an overly sweet breakfast menu so this is my kind of treat and just right on the sweetness without sprinkling sugar on top. I used all butter. I also added 1 tsp. of mace. The next time I make these I will add some cinnamon too. If you are looking for currants you might find them at Whole Foods if there is one near you. I had never tasted currants so I was unpleasantly surprised when I tasted them right out of the package and in my opinion tasted like baby raisins. I'm not a big fan of raisins but I added the currants anyway and was pleasantly surprised that I liked them in these cookies/cakes. I'm fairly sure that my husband will most probably not like these because there are no chocolate chips involved but that's a thought. Might throw in a few next time just for him. Not authentic I know but the man will eat anything with chocolate added. I think that dried cranberries might be tasty substitute for the currants. I plan to freeze half of these to have on the weekends with some chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I first tasted these on a trip to Wales and just had to have a recipe. It took me a little while to find it because the vendor who sold me them called them Welsh cakes. (What we call cookies are usually cakes or biscuits in GB) The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly and they tasted just like I remembered them. Now I usually use raisins because I have them on hand but don't keep currants in the cabinet. I always make a double batch because my husband eats them a fast as I can take them off the griddle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Betancourt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Very good, although I do think they need cinnamon and/or nutmeg added. And I had to adjust the temperature of my pan as well. I did use a cast iron skillet, and did not have to grease it. Next time, I may try using butter only and no shortening, and reduce the baking powder to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrayEyed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were quite a little surprise for me! If you are looking for a regular "cookie" this is not it. This is a cross between a scone and a cookie and it's very different and addictive. The amount of sugar is perfect in my opinion, I did not sprinkle with extra like some people have done and they were perfect. I made some small changes...I used raisins I finely chopped because I didn't have any currants in the house. I also don't keep shortening and my milk had gone bad so I used all butter for the fat and cold water instead of the milk. I added a very small bit of nutmeg and cinnamon too and used a scant 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp vanilla as well. I put the dry ingredients into my food processor and added the cold butter in pulses and then the egg and water which i had mixed together in a cup. I cooked them with only about 2 tsp of canola oil in a nonstick skillet. My cutter was about 2 inches wide so this recipe made 26 cakes for me. These will be perfect for a small snack with tea and fruit when I have a low appetite. They're comforting and not too rich or heavy and they definitely have that "somebodies grandma made these" feeling to them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These remind me of the cookies I would make with my grandmother as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This almost the exact replica of my husband's Welsh great-grandmother's recipe. I use 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 unsalted butter. This is the one Christmas cookie that I always have to make. Great with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Thank you for posting this. My Aunt and Grandmother used to make these and they are both gone now. I am grateful to be able to pass on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very similar to my Nana's. She used raisins instead of currants and hers had nutmeg in them. Seriously addictive after the second cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States