Welsh Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Love these! I use currents and add some lemon or orange zest at times. They are a big hit at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
There is no such thing as a Welsh cookie....Welsh cake yes. Welsh cookie no. Appreciate the recipe upload but as a Welsh person the title made me cry inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I'm not fond of an overly sweet breakfast menu so this is my kind of treat and just right on the sweetness without sprinkling sugar on top. I used all butter. I also added 1 tsp. of mace. The next time I make these I will add some cinnamon too. If you are looking for currants you might find them at Whole Foods if there is one near you. I had never tasted currants so I was unpleasantly surprised when I tasted them right out of the package and in my opinion tasted like baby raisins. I'm not a big fan of raisins but I added the currants anyway and was pleasantly surprised that I liked them in these cookies/cakes. I'm fairly sure that my husband will most probably not like these because there are no chocolate chips involved but that's a thought. Might throw in a few next time just for him. Not authentic I know but the man will eat anything with chocolate added. I think that dried cranberries might be tasty substitute for the currants. I plan to freeze half of these to have on the weekends with some chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I first tasted these on a trip to Wales and just had to have a recipe. It took me a little while to find it because the vendor who sold me them called them Welsh cakes. (What we call cookies are usually cakes or biscuits in GB) The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly and they tasted just like I remembered them. Now I usually use raisins because I have them on hand but don't keep currants in the cabinet. I always make a double batch because my husband eats them a fast as I can take them off the griddle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Very good, although I do think they need cinnamon and/or nutmeg added. And I had to adjust the temperature of my pan as well. I did use a cast iron skillet, and did not have to grease it. Next time, I may try using butter only and no shortening, and reduce the baking powder to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrayEyed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were quite a little surprise for me! If you are looking for a regular "cookie" this is not it. This is a cross between a scone and a cookie and it's very different and addictive. The amount of sugar is perfect in my opinion, I did not sprinkle with extra like some people have done and they were perfect. I made some small changes...I used raisins I finely chopped because I didn't have any currants in the house. I also don't keep shortening and my milk had gone bad so I used all butter for the fat and cold water instead of the milk. I added a very small bit of nutmeg and cinnamon too and used a scant 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp vanilla as well. I put the dry ingredients into my food processor and added the cold butter in pulses and then the egg and water which i had mixed together in a cup. I cooked them with only about 2 tsp of canola oil in a nonstick skillet. My cutter was about 2 inches wide so this recipe made 26 cakes for me. These will be perfect for a small snack with tea and fruit when I have a low appetite. They're comforting and not too rich or heavy and they definitely have that "somebodies grandma made these" feeling to them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These remind me of the cookies I would make with my grandmother as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This almost the exact replica of my husband's Welsh great-grandmother's recipe. I use 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 unsalted butter. This is the one Christmas cookie that I always have to make. Great with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Thank you for posting this. My Aunt and Grandmother used to make these and they are both gone now. I am grateful to be able to pass on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States