Welfare Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I substituted a few ingredients to make this recipe slightly healthier and it turned out great. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 white flour, cut the sugar to 1 cup and used apple sauce instead of the oil. The cake had a great consistency and wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe dates back to the war/depression era, when eggs & dairy were rationed, or, in limited supply. The name of this recipe was plentiful back then. War Cake, Depression cake, Eggless butterless cake, Three hole chocolate cake, Chocolate oil cake, etc. Not once in that time was this recipe ever called, "Welfare cake" Re-naming this recipe Welfare cake is degrading to the many families & single mothers who have had to resort to welfare to get by. Being on welfare is embarrassing for a great many people. Having recipes labelled "welfare recipe" only adds to that embarrassment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love this cake I'm a college student and I made this cake with everything i had at hand so easy tastes great better than the box!I used Lemon Juice instead of vinager. Great thanks so much this one is definetly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had a craving for chocolate one night, but didn't have any milk on hand, since we were due to go get groceries the next day. I found this recipe, and tried it. I was pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous moist texture and great chocolately flavour! It was amazing, even without icing. I can only imagine how delicious it must be with a scoop of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was a wonderful no egg cake! It turned out very well. I topped mine with a buttercream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe was very moist and dense, but it definitely needed frosting, so I added a strawberry glaze. Overall, we enjoyed it, and I was pleased that it was low fat. I also cut down on the fat content further by using half oil, and half apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
It really does taste like cake from a box(which the kids all love). I added chocolate chips (1/4 cup) to the recipe for the added chocolate kick. I would make this again and let the kids help out. I'm fat gram conscious, and this is a good lower fat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This cake is wonderful! Very dense, very filling and satisfying. I have made it twice in the past two weeks for birthdays and everyone has raved over it. Thank you for an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this cake last night with my husband and two girls. It was good but not the best I've ever had. We put cool whipped frosting on it (recipe from this site) and it was a nice light topping to this dense cake. I don't think I liked the vinegar in it. I will omit if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out just like a cake I would buy from a supermarket (the no-frills type sans frosting). Easy to make & tastes & smells good. I put on some frosting I made from another recipe I got at this website & it was great! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States