Welfare Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This is such a simple recipe, and tastes great. I've made it with a white boiled frosting, but it was better with a chcolate cream cheese frosting. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Nothing great But it did taste good!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This recipe is very simmilar to my Nana's "Crazy cake" recipe which is missing, so I was very glad that it works so well. As per family traditoin I usd a homemade buttercream icing. I also used 1 cup of whole wheat flour. It turned out great. Thank you for helping me keep a family tradition alive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Very, very yummy! The flavour was perfect for a chocolate cake. Not too rich but in no way bland. I did expect it to be a little more moist, but I don't think that made it any worse. I also glazed it with strawberry jam to give it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
i found this cake to be surprisingly moist and flavorful. i didn't frost it, since we don't like things that are too sweet, and it made a great snack. i really liked it's simplicity, which makes it easy to reduce for smaller batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe was very moist and dense, but it definitely needed frosting, so I added a strawberry glaze. Overall, we enjoyed it, and I was pleased that it was low fat. I also cut down on the fat content further by using half oil, and half apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
FAST!!! Very moist, but not so fluffy. It definitely requires frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This cake was not very moist. It was very airy and not very chocolatey at all. I even doubled the chocolate. Definately would have to eat frosting or icing with it. I probably will not make this again. :( Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Incredible!!I had to look twice to notice there were no eggs in this recipe. Very moist and bakes beautifully. I would add a little more sugar(1/4 cup)in the batter for sweetness and frosting before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
I've look for my grandmother's chocolate cake recipe for several years----and here I've found it. Talk about "comfort food"! This cake is even better the "second day." And I've found that it really doesn't need any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States