Welfare Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We Loved this cake! My daughter says it tastes like a chocolate cake donut. It's very moist but not overly. And it holds together very well. I would say it is a dense cake but we really liked it! I will definitely be making this one again. I made it just like the recipe and it was quick and easy. I did have to bake it 10 mins more to get the toothpick to come out clean. We didn't add any icing although powdered sugar would have been a nice finish. It sorta reminds you of the mayonnaise cakes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
very good recipe, I threw in some chocolate chips and it was great! very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was a wonderful no egg cake! It turned out very well. I topped mine with a buttercream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used apple sauce in place of the oil for a fat free cake plus cut the sugar in half...I topped it with lite cool whip and drizzled a small amount of chocolate syrup on it..my husband loved it...will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is the best low fat chocolate cake I have ever made!! And no cholesterol too?! This one's a keeper. I made mine a Bundt(+10 min to bake time)and covered it with the Vanilla Glaze recipe.Delicious!!!Great cake for calorie/fat gram counters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesepleese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Overall this cake wasn't bad. I substituted the oil with applesauce and reduced the sugar to 1 cup like one reviewer suggested. Next time I will add a little more sugar and more cocoa. Definately needs icing of some sort, I used fat fee chocolate fudge pudding. For being very low fat it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had a craving for chocolate one night, but didn't have any milk on hand, since we were due to go get groceries the next day. I found this recipe, and tried it. I was pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous moist texture and great chocolately flavour! It was amazing, even without icing. I can only imagine how delicious it must be with a scoop of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
An amazing cake, my son is allergic to egg and dairy, it's hard to find something that he can eat and tastes good, this is great. I love how moist it is, better than a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Welfare Cake has an interesting taste. Not as sweet as a boxed cake imo. It is very moist though with a dark chocolate color and unbelievably easy to whip up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Late2Class

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This cake has a funny, 'chemically' taste, though it isn't from a box. Not really unpleasant, but certainly something I'd prefer not to have in a cake. The cake had a nice crumb and was very moist with wonderful texture and a moderate chocolate taste. It's nice that it's not only cheap, but also vegan. It's best when it's fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States