Welfare Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Considering the ingrediences in this cake, I found it to be wonderfully moist,dense and of a good chocolate flavor. It is nice to find an old fashion desert that requires ingrediences that are readily available at any time. Great desert for low fat, no cholesterol diets. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very nice. I halved it for just me and my husband, and followed that exactly. I put it in a 8x8 pan which needed slightly less time than I gave it (30 mins). Just be aware it doesn't rise much. I decided to cut mine in half and make it into basically 1/2 a layer cake with frosting in the middle. Really enjoyed it and didn't miss the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out just like a cake I would buy from a supermarket (the no-frills type sans frosting). Easy to make & tastes & smells good. I put on some frosting I made from another recipe I got at this website & it was great! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
My son has an egg allergy and this is by far one of the best chocolate cakes I have found. We sometimes add some chocolate chips to the batter. Also, I increase the coco to 3/4 cup for a richer chocolate flavor. Lastly, I make these as cupcakes and bake them for about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
It was very good I made a round funnel cake and it took an extra 15 minuets. That did the trick very moist and sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We Loved this cake! My daughter says it tastes like a chocolate cake donut. It's very moist but not overly. And it holds together very well. I would say it is a dense cake but we really liked it! I will definitely be making this one again. I made it just like the recipe and it was quick and easy. I did have to bake it 10 mins more to get the toothpick to come out clean. We didn't add any icing although powdered sugar would have been a nice finish. It sorta reminds you of the mayonnaise cakes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
very good recipe, I threw in some chocolate chips and it was great! very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was a wonderful no egg cake! It turned out very well. I topped mine with a buttercream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used apple sauce in place of the oil for a fat free cake plus cut the sugar in half...I topped it with lite cool whip and drizzled a small amount of chocolate syrup on it..my husband loved it...will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is the best low fat chocolate cake I have ever made!! And no cholesterol too?! This one's a keeper. I made mine a Bundt(+10 min to bake time)and covered it with the Vanilla Glaze recipe.Delicious!!!Great cake for calorie/fat gram counters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesepleese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States