Welfare Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It was yummy, but had a strange after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuLin
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My husband loved this cake! I used low-fat margarine instead of the vegetable oil. It worked fine! It's amazing how much it tastes so much like a box cake but much more filling! And it's made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
wowowwowowowow what a wonderful cake recipe ...tried it out for one of my friends birthbays and it was a hit ...someone even asked for the recipe and was so suprised to see that i did not use any eggs in it ...so lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Like this recipe! Eggless, low fat, better than a box cake mix by far! Stirred with a metal spoon then poured it into a prepared baking dish, it had nice volume without dragging out the electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyCakeKnits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe dates back to the war/depression era, when eggs & dairy were rationed, or, in limited supply. The name of this recipe was plentiful back then. War Cake, Depression cake, Eggless butterless cake, Three hole chocolate cake, Chocolate oil cake, etc. Not once in that time was this recipe ever called, "Welfare cake" Re-naming this recipe Welfare cake is degrading to the many families & single mothers who have had to resort to welfare to get by. Being on welfare is embarrassing for a great many people. Having recipes labelled "welfare recipe" only adds to that embarrassment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Considering the ingrediences in this cake, I found it to be wonderfully moist,dense and of a good chocolate flavor. It is nice to find an old fashion desert that requires ingrediences that are readily available at any time. Great desert for low fat, no cholesterol diets. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very nice. I halved it for just me and my husband, and followed that exactly. I put it in a 8x8 pan which needed slightly less time than I gave it (30 mins). Just be aware it doesn't rise much. I decided to cut mine in half and make it into basically 1/2 a layer cake with frosting in the middle. Really enjoyed it and didn't miss the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out just like a cake I would buy from a supermarket (the no-frills type sans frosting). Easy to make & tastes & smells good. I put on some frosting I made from another recipe I got at this website & it was great! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
My son has an egg allergy and this is by far one of the best chocolate cakes I have found. We sometimes add some chocolate chips to the batter. Also, I increase the coco to 3/4 cup for a richer chocolate flavor. Lastly, I make these as cupcakes and bake them for about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
It was very good I made a round funnel cake and it took an extra 15 minuets. That did the trick very moist and sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States