Welfare Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is better than a box! We had a box of cake mix in the pantry so I did that up real quick one night and we all made the comment that the box was horrible compared to this recipe. It's easy, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This cake is good but a little chemical tasting? I think it's the vinagar. I haven't tried any of the suggestions but I may just be sensitive cause it seems everyone really loves this cake every time I make it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonslady
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Wonderful, moist, chocolaty! The first time I made it, it was ready to take out of the oven at 30 minutes baking time. The second time I made it, I didn't have any oil, so I used salted butter. Warning: I should have decreased the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. Also, it was ready to remove from the oven after 30 minutes baking time. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This cake is very good; I appreciate it because I find it is hard to nail down a true chocolatey flavor when making chocolate cake from scratch-- but this meets my standard! It is especially good with a chocolate glaze poured on it while still warm, and served up with a cup of cold milk... Yummy! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this recipe with the ingredients I had lying around....it was soo moist and delicious..I didnt have cocoa powder so I used nestle cocoa instead I didnt have enough white vinegar so I used I tbl spoon white vinegar and 1 tblsppon apple cider vinegar..it was soo blood :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It was yummy, but had a strange after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Jansen
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My husband loved this cake! I used low-fat margarine instead of the vegetable oil. It worked fine! It's amazing how much it tastes so much like a box cake but much more filling! And it's made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Jansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
wowowwowowowow what a wonderful cake recipe ...tried it out for one of my friends birthbays and it was a hit ...someone even asked for the recipe and was so suprised to see that i did not use any eggs in it ...so lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Like this recipe! Eggless, low fat, better than a box cake mix by far! Stirred with a metal spoon then poured it into a prepared baking dish, it had nice volume without dragging out the electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyCakeKnits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe dates back to the war/depression era, when eggs & dairy were rationed, or, in limited supply. The name of this recipe was plentiful back then. War Cake, Depression cake, Eggless butterless cake, Three hole chocolate cake, Chocolate oil cake, etc. Not once in that time was this recipe ever called, "Welfare cake" Re-naming this recipe Welfare cake is degrading to the many families & single mothers who have had to resort to welfare to get by. Being on welfare is embarrassing for a great many people. Having recipes labelled "welfare recipe" only adds to that embarrassment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States