Weeknight Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was good. I've made this several times but my husband is not a big fan of the soup so instead of the soup, I mixed 1/3 cup of butter, 1/3 cup flour, 1 3/4 cups of chicken broth (99% fat free) 2/3 cups of 2% milk. 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/2 tsp. salt (optional) Mix well. Whisk in sauce pan till thickens then pour over chicken and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This recipe tasted ok but didn't really work well. I found the cheese melted out of the chicken into the sauce which made the sauce yummy but the chicken rather bland. If I make this again I would dip the flattened chicken breasts in breadcrumbs, brown in the frypan then layer on a baking sheet & top with ham & cheese. I would make the sauce separately and serve with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Our family is very busy and this recipe was perfect! It was very quick and everyone thought it tasted great. We had no bread crumbs and so I altered the recipe by just laying out the chicken flat in a large casserole dish, topped with the swiss cheese and then the ham and just baked it for about 15 minutes. Then I topped it with the soup and cream sauce and baked it until the chicken was done. It turned out wonderfully. Next time I will try it with the bread crumb coating :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
We enjoyed this recipe very much. Changes I made were to dip the rolled chicken in buttermilk before breading and refrigerating the breaded chicken for 30 mins so the breading would stick better. I also baked the chicken without the sauce as we wanted the crust to be a little crispy. I didn't have any cream so I just used milk, added fresh ground pepper, garlic powder and dried basil. It was wonderful spooned over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Made this for New Years and it was yummy. Made a couple changes. After I rolled up chicken I coated with egg wash and rolled in a mix of half flour, half bread crumbs with paprika. Did not need toothpicks. Then I browned rolls which locks the moisture in the chicken. Baked without sauce for about 30-40 minutes. On the stove top I combined cream with cream of chicken with herbs soup and added swiss and cheddar to the sauce. we love cheese. Very good next time i will just use milk for the sauce as cream is so fattening and did not taste much differnt. THANKS for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
THIS WAS AWESOME...My husband, 2, 3 AND 5 year old kids all ate it up. I used cream of mushroom because I was out of cream of chicken. I also used crushed Ritz instead of regular breadcrumbs. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This wa delicious. The only changes I made was to add italian seasoning to the bread crumbs, and made my own sauce as my son is sensative to MSG (no canned soup). 1 tbsp butter melter, 1 tbsp flour, cook over heat for 1 min, add 1 cup chicken broth, and 1/2 cup milk for creamyness, simmer until think adding whatever spices you like, I added garlic, onion and pepper. I also added 2 cups of sauted fresh mixed mushrooms. Me and my son wait until chicken breast goes on sale and then make a ton of these, bread them, wrap them in saran and freeze them. The breading stays on great, but do not defrost them in the mic as the cheese will melt and leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
We really liked this recipe. The second time I made it I marinated the chicken (after pounding it) in some Italian dressing (for about 2 hours) and used seasoned bread crumbs. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was a very quick & easy & yummy dish. I followed all instructions pretty much to a tee, but used no salt, used thick cut sweet ham from the deli, used reduced fat cream of chicken. I had to cook quite a bit longer than 15 minutes, I would estimate I cooked it about 45 minutes. It was very moist on the inside & the outside breading was wonderful! The cheese melted a little out, but not much. I did use swiss & monterrey jack & it tasted great. My fiancee kept telling me how good it was. As a side, I made plain white rice & chopped broccoli seperately & when they were both finished, I combined them, added some pepper & butter & scooped some of the sauce from the chicken dish into rice. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good and easy. The sauce is ok - I'm going to play around with it and come up with something equally as easy but a little better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States