Weekend Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
After reading a lot of the reviews I incorporated a lot of the recommendations and made a few of my own. As some reviewers mentioned I cooked the crescent dough for 5 minutes. Once I took it out of the oven I added a layer of shredded cheddar and monterrey jack cheese. Instead of regular sausage I chopped up some Chorizo and browned it in a skillet with some onions. I let it cool on a paper plate and added some shredded hash browns to the skillet and let them crisp up with some Adobo seasoning. I used 7 eggs to 1 cup milk and whisked together with the salt, pepper and some cayenne pepper. (we like spice). I layered the crisped hash browns on top of the crescent dough and cheese. I added the Chorizo and onions back to the skillet and added the egg mixture and cooked until the eggs started just set up. I then poured that over the hash browns and added a final layer of cheese. I cooked for 25 minutes. Came out great! It was a nice New Years breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Extremely easy--and very fast to prepare the morning of. usually I prefer to make these casseroles the night before, then pop in the oven, but the most strenuous part of this is cooking the sausage. I had it ready to go in the oven in no time at all. I added red pepper to the egg mixture just because. We did have to cook another 10-15 minutes for the eggs to set, which darkened the crescent rolls a tad more than we liked, but it was still pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is seriously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The filling was too mushy for me. I would recommend baking the cresent rolls for a few minutes before pouring the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I make this casserole exactly how the recipe calls, and it is awesome! Next time I will leave out the salt though. The sausage adds enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My family really liked this recipe. I used bacon instead of sausage and baked the crescent rolls in the pan for 4 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients since I was nervous it would be "doughy". Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed the recommendations of some of the others and did some modifying. I used 7 eggs to 1 cup of milk. I also precooked the crescent rolls for 6 minutes. I cooked the sausage and poured the egg mixture over the sausage until eggs were halfway done, then I poured the sausage/egg mixture over the crescent rolls, I topped it wtih monterrey jack and cheddar cheese and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. It was great when eaten fresh, but it is not good when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Sorry - no one liked this in my house. There was way too much sausage in this for us even w/ 6 eggs. I made this for dinner and I had heartburn ALL night long after eating this and I rarely get heartburn. Maybe a 1/2 a lb. of sausage and lots of veggies added might make it better w/ chedder cheese or a cheese mixture. After what I went through last night, I won't even try it again w/ changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was really good! I made it as written, except that I added some minced garlic to the egg mixture and used monterey jack instead of mozzarella. Yummy! It did take quite a bit longer to bake than the recipe stated, maybe 25 minutes or so? All around good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was very good with the following modifications: cooked some diced red pepper, onion and mushrooms with the sausage. Used about 9 eggs and a cup of milk and added some Tastefully Simple Seasoning Salt. Baked at 350 for about 30 - 40 minutes. Would like to try with different variations of ham and bacon. Would also be good with shredded hashbrownes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States