Weekend Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
YUMMY!! I read a lot of reviews before making this and came up with the following: I cooked sausage and allowed to sit on paper towels to soak up the grease. sprayed the dish with cooking spray, cooked the cresent "crust" for 7 mins. Used 8 eggs, combined sausage and eggs in skillet, cooked about 3 mins stirring constantly, just to allow them to set up a little.(others had mentioned the eggs not cooking well in the oven) poured over cresent topped with shredded colby jack cheese. Baked @375 for 20 mins. This turned out PERFECT!! Allowing the eggs to cook on the stove for a few mins is important because the crust doesn't get soggy and the eggs are cooked completely without the crust burning!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Like others, I did some modifying - I recommend 2-2 1/2 cups of assorted cheeses in this casserole...I will mix up to 4 kinds, including cheddar, monterray jack, colby, provolone, gruyere, gouda...just experiment! I also used 7 eggs to 1 cup of milk. For seasoning...try the finer ground (for table use) Mrs. Dash in the egg mix, along with a sprinkle of chili powder on the top. Onion browned with the sausage is better, also. I baked this wonderful casserole at 375 for 26 minutes - NTE: it is a MUST to prebake the crescent rolls, I baked mine at 375 for 6-7 min. FYI - I'm the one w/the firefighter husband and this recipe scored HUGE hits with his crew. I have tried out alot of recipes for them off this site and this is one of the best. You can also give it a southwest twist by using green chilies, olives, and using taco seasoned ground beef (or deer meat) in place of the sausage. This version cut into smaller pieces would make a good appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
WOW! No sooner did I serve this breakfast casserole and it was gone! Easy, quick, tasty, no need to add or tweek it in anyway. Great even cold at lunch or warmed the next day. One note: the crescent dough will come out mushy if the sausage is cooked before baking the casserole for the appointed 15 minutes so add an extra 5 minutes to harden it. The first time I made this I cooked the sausage the night before and it sat in the frig overnight. The next morning the 15 minute baking time was served a perfect casserole. The second time I made this casserole I cooked the sausage just before baking and the crescent roll on the bottom was too soft. The additional 5 minutes baking time was effective. Enjoy this meal. My husband is eager for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I made several changes to this recipe to suit our tastes, but it's a great basic recipe that can be easily adapted and I love the crescent roll crust, so I am giving it 5 stars. I used cubed ham instead of the sausage and added sautéed mushrooms, onion and bell pepper. The added ingredients required using 2 more eggs than what the recipe calls for. And I used montery jack and chedder instead of the monzarella. Like a lot of the other reviewers, I found the cooking time was too short...mine needed about 30 minutes. I served this to a group of friends for bruch and they were still talking about it the next time I saw them...I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I was looking for something different for xmas morning and came across this recipe. I made it up ahead of xmas to see if everyone liked it. It was good, but something was missing to make it great! I added a pound of cooked italian sausage, 1/4 cup diced red pepper, 1 diced green onion, 1 cup Asiago cheese. Increased the eggs to 5 and the milk to 1 cup. Cooked it 25 mins and it was a hit! So easy to make, the kids loved it, gramma loved it and I loved it. Planning to make it again for New Years brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very tasty! Here were the changes I made: used 6 eggs, 1 cup skim milk, shredded colby jack chesse and I added a liberal dash of hot sauce to the eggs instead of the black pepper. I pre-baked the crescent rolls for 10 min, then baked the casserole a total of 25 more min. Crust was crispy - next time will pre-bake crust a few less min (maybe 5 min). Not at all soggy like some other reviews. Overall VERY yummy! I may try and make a lower calorie/fat version in the future - I'll let you know how it turns out! Note: this reheats REALLY well - husband likes to put hot sauce on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
When I run out of meal ideas, we will often have breakfast for supper. I was tired of the same old scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon routine, and this casserole was an easy, delicious meal that was quick to prepare. I did add some onion to the sausage when I browned it and used 6 eggs (with 1 cup of milk) instead of the 4. I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the crescent rolls for 5 minutes before adding the sausage, cheese and eggs. I also cooked the casserole for 30 minutes on 375 because the eggs just weren't done before then (I don't like runny eggs!) My husband and kids enjoyed it and the leftovers reheated well for breakfast this morning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Excellent. I use cheddar instead of mozzarella and seasoning salt instead of plain salt. Also, I added chopped onions and browned them with sausage. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Jmama
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Overall a pretty good recipe. I made a few changes. I added 2 cups of shredded potatoes (aka frozen hash browns), I added about a tsp of garlic powder to the egg mixture, added 5 eggs instead of 4, used a three cheese blend, and cooked for 25 minutes instead of 15. Turned out great!! Maybe add some onion and green pepper next time. *** This tastes even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This casserole was delicious. Our kids and grandkids were in for the weekend and this was a hit. I'm glad to have a good breakfast recipe that I can serve whenever we have overnight company. I altered this recipe in some of the ways other reviewers recommended. I used a combination of cheddar and monteray jack cheeses. I used 5 eggs and 1 cup whole milk (just because I had it on hand for the grandbaby--I'll probably use skim in the future). I used Jimmy Dean Bold Country sausage (not the Bold Hot), which has a great flavor without being too hot. I browned about 1/4 cup of chopped onion with the sausage. I left the black pepper out of the recipe because I was afraid it might be too much with the bold sausage. I cooked the casserole for 15 minutes. Then I took it out of the oven and put foil around the edges to keep it from getting too browned, and I baked it for 10 more minutes--a total of 25 minutes. The servings from the outside edges of the dish were perfect, but the servings from the interior of the casserole really needed just a few more minutes in the oven. I think next time I will put the protective foil around the edges from the beginning and bake it for a full 30 minutes. If you like sausage, eggs, and croissants, I can think of no reason that you wouldn't enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States