Wedge Salad with Elegant Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is a great salad! In a hurry and don't have time to make dressing? Simply docter up bottled blue cheese dressing. I add just a bit of red wine vinegar, milk, sugar and black pepper and it tastes pretty much the same as starting from scratch. Also,as others suggested, real bacon bits really add to it. My kids love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fabulous dressing! I cut the amount of blue cheese in half. I love the tang from the red wine vinegar coupled with the sweetness from the sugar. Definitely give it time for the flavors to come together (I did make it the night before). I did add some crumbled bacon and chilled the salad plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was VERY good...they serve this at one of my favorite restaraunts and I was so glad to find the recipe...only thing I did different was to also add some crumbled bacon on top of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I love these salads at steak houses because it's such simple flavour. You can 'cheat' a little with a good bottled bleu cheese dressing, fresh ground pepper, and the crumbled bleu cheese on top. I like mine with a large serving spoonful of fresh diced tomatos atop--the sweetness of the tomato goes well with the pungentness of the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GestaltCasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is a great, simple salad. I love blue cheese so I didn't change the blue cheese quantity as the other reviewers. However, it is great to be able to adjust that based on your personal tastes. I added chopped pecans and dried cranberries with the other toppings. The combination of the sweet (cranberries) and bite (blue cheese) is a great combination. Add this one to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Fantasic & so easy. Made the salad dressing with low fat mayo and sour cream, added a little extra garlic and some worceshire. Sprinkled some very crispy homemade bacon bits when I served. YUM!! I also like to sprinkle toasted walnuts or pecans with my blue cheese salads. Will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Awesome dressing recipe. Like everyone else has said, you can cut the blue cheese in the dressing and salad in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I also happen to love the wedge salad from my favorite steak house and this dressing is about as close as you can get to the taste of that dressing. I did change one thing since I did not have any buttermilk and just used regular milk. Buttermilk is slightly tangy so rather than use 100% blue cheese, I used half blue and half feta. The feta cheese gave it a slight tang which would have been present had I used buttermilk. Delicious and oh so easy to prepare. I cannot wait to serve it at my next dinner party...they will never believe I made it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The dressing was delicious! I used gargonzola instead of blue cheese and it was perfect. Blue cheese would have been great as well. I also cut the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
wedge salad is always good for a nic, valentine dinner! I cooked this for my boyfriend on valentines day...he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States