Wedge Salad with Elegant Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This dressing was wonderful with half of the blue cheese--both in the dressing and on top of the salads (I think it would have been way too over-powering with all of the cheese in and on top of the salad!). I substituted whole milk b/c I didn't have any buttermilk and the dressing was definitely elegant and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I love this dressing. But like the other reviewer, that is alot of blue cheese. I just added about 1/4 cup(eyeballed it), put it all in a blender for a few pulses, and I have to say, it is the best I've tasted. Even my kids love it, and ask for it all the time. Now I keep blue cheese in stock. It is just ever so slightly sweet when you first taste it, then you get the nice tang following that, with the nice strong flavor of the cheese. I have never cared for bottled dressing of any kind, I have always liked making my own because I like to be able to control the salt and sugar and it just is always nice and fresh. I wonder if the recipe might have been a typo or something. Maybe it meant to be a half a cup instead. This is the only reason as to why I had to give it a 4 star. I also like adding to it chopped candied walnuts, chopped bacon, and chopped granny smith apples. It just doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The dressing was wonderful--except for my very spicy garlic (but that was my fault). I added glazed walnuts and that mixed well with the blue cheese. Will do again but will probably half the recipe (makes a little too much for my family to use up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was VERY good...they serve this at one of my favorite restaraunts and I was so glad to find the recipe...only thing I did different was to also add some crumbled bacon on top of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is a great salad! In a hurry and don't have time to make dressing? Simply docter up bottled blue cheese dressing. I add just a bit of red wine vinegar, milk, sugar and black pepper and it tastes pretty much the same as starting from scratch. Also,as others suggested, real bacon bits really add to it. My kids love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I love these salads at steak houses because it's such simple flavour. You can 'cheat' a little with a good bottled bleu cheese dressing, fresh ground pepper, and the crumbled bleu cheese on top. I like mine with a large serving spoonful of fresh diced tomatos atop--the sweetness of the tomato goes well with the pungentness of the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GestaltCasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is a great, simple salad. I love blue cheese so I didn't change the blue cheese quantity as the other reviewers. However, it is great to be able to adjust that based on your personal tastes. I added chopped pecans and dried cranberries with the other toppings. The combination of the sweet (cranberries) and bite (blue cheese) is a great combination. Add this one to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Fantasic & so easy. Made the salad dressing with low fat mayo and sour cream, added a little extra garlic and some worceshire. Sprinkled some very crispy homemade bacon bits when I served. YUM!! I also like to sprinkle toasted walnuts or pecans with my blue cheese salads. Will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I really love this recipe, but I cut the blue cheese down to two 5 oz. packages, one for the dressing, and one to sprinkle on top. None of my four children liked it, but they are picky eaters and I think blue cheese is an acquired taste. As for myself and my husband, we really enjoyed it, and it would be easy to make the dressing up ahead of time and prepare the toppings to throw together at the last minute. I will definitely be serving this again, but probably to a dinner party the next time, where they will appreciate it more than my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Awesome dressing recipe. Like everyone else has said, you can cut the blue cheese in the dressing and salad in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States